Alfine 11speed users. Your experence sought

Dr S

Old School Grand Master
Hi all,

So is anyone running Alfine hub gears on here? Any problems? Do you notice the extra weight in the back end? How are you finding the spread of ratios?

Cheers
Si

I remember passing a chap riding the 8(?) speed one at the big dog last year and he was doing a lot of swearing at it :LOL: I asked him if he did that a lot and he replied in the affirmative.

I have tried the 8sp and found it smooth as silk, the weight was noticeable on lifting the bike only, the balance is way off with one fitted, though it was on a non suspended dale.

The great thing apart from bombproof built, was the fact you can change gear at a standstill. Came in handy around town, on the beach etc.

You could be in top gear, emergency stop, knock it down, then lat off up a hill of from traffic lights.

11sp is going down well with the fatbike groups in hard areas.

I've no experience of the 11 speed but I've been using the 8 speed for a couple of years now.

The only negative (for me) is the weight - it's most noticeable when you pick the bike up to chuck it over a gate or fence but you do notice it a bit while you're riding too. It just takes a bit more unweighting to get the back wheel up steps and over logs and the same with endo turns on downhill switchbacks - you've just got to exaggerate your weight shifts a bit.
Being able to select a gear when trackstanding or coasting is something that you only appreciate when you go back to a derailleur system and realise that you can't do this.

Engagement feels "soft" (it's the roller clutches) and if you have come from a fast engagement hub like a Hope SS (and, if like me, you tend to ratchet a lot in trialsy type sections) then it takes a bit of getting used to.
The weight fairly low at the back does make the bike feel very "planted" on steep techy stuff though.