1998 Kona Hot

ryanmtnman

Dirt Disciple
Hey crew,

I've been dodging this move for close to 4 years, but the time has come. I am finally parting ways with my trusty Hot. I am the original owner, bought it for myself as a wedding present when I was a shop manager back in the late 90's. I had been selling Kona's since 95' and had always wanted a HOT. When I went to pull the trigger in early 98, Kona said they had stopped production and the bike was no more. I was crushed and started to set my sights on the Hei Hei. Around the beginning of 99' I got a call from Sarah Venable, the sales manager that I worked with for our season orders and she said, there were a number of full 853 Hot tube sets still around and they had contracted with Enigma to weld them up. She asked what size, what color and what fork options, because she knew already knew I was going to make the purchase before I could even get it out of my mouth. About 4 days after I got back from my honeymoon in late August of 99 the lightest and prettiest steel frame I had ever put my hands on showed up at my new abode. Obviously, it was a 17" green Hot with the Marazochi Z2 Atom Bomb. I directly built it up with a full (950 gen) XTR kit (v-brakes, shifters, front and rear derailleurs), a spanky new M900 cassette, Thompson post, Kore stem, Scott bars, Oury Grips, Specialized body Geometry Magnesium comp saddle, FSA Orbit Extreme Headset, FSA Ti BB, and a Sugino Mighty X-900 crank set pushing the Shimano HG91 chain...mated to a set of the original Mavic Crossmax wheels with Ritchey WCS Z-MAX tires. Pushing everything along was a set of Time ATAC. This was my dream bike...Period!