1990 Peugeot Hurricane

nstarmore

Retro Guru
Just completed this one so will be a rather short thread but thought I'd share nonetheless.

I picked this one up as a frame and fork a few months back from these pages and had it delivered from it's original country of origin.

I have no particular personal experience of these, however, when I were a lad whilst being fed a poor supply of low end Raleigh's (such delights as the original Activator and Max Ogre) from my well meaning family I was always lusting after a Peugeot. Owing to my car obsession and believing any bike with a car manufacturers name on had to be awesome :facepalm:

Anyway, that Peugeot never materialised (thankfully, given what I would have ended up with at the budget afforded by my parents), however, since getting into this retro bike lark that itch came back. This time though I wanted something that would be worth the effort of building... and so, the Hurricane, this is the catalogue spec for the Netherlands market:

Peugeot-Hurricane-1990-achet-le-bon-coin-120-euros-le-09-05-2013.png

IMG-20200329-151643.jpg

From what I've seen of other Hurricanes the spec can very slightly (maybe depending on market) and some have 500lx groups or a mix of 400 and 500.

I was going to go for a catalogue build having a full 400LX group going spare and made a start. However, I decided that I didn't want to wait around sourcing original spec parts as I had entered this years Haldon Heroic CX event with my brother-in-law (who would be using his 1990 MF Courier Comp) and this was the bike I was going to do it on.

So, I've gone for a sort of 'loved bike that has been lightly upgraded through use' type of build with slightly more modern parts but not new enough to be restomod.

Anyway enough waffling, this is what I ended up with:

IMG-20200328-162318.jpg

IMG-20200328-162335.jpg

Frame & Fork: 1990 Peugeot Hurricane Tange 531 ATB butted main triangle, Tange Cromoly forks and 1" steerer