1986 (?) Muddy Fox Courier - commuter/work bike project

jacobTFH

Retro Newbie
Hi all, newbie here. Found this forum after researching my latest purchase:

Here's my Muddy Fox Courier which I picked up a month ago. It's my only bike (tiny london flat doesn't permit building up a collection) so I'm using it for my towpath commute as well as longer rides round Epping Forest and eventually some camping trips once the weather gets better!

I bought it to replace my (very sensible, very frumpy, very un-retro) specialized sirrus which got nicked, decided to get a less 'nickable' bike and also learn how to fix up bikes in the process. I've been slowly fixing it up with the help of the lovely people at London Bike Kitchen. All cables replaced, hubs and BB serviced, new chain and cassette, panaracer pasela tyres, and a wald 139 (I think) basket and matching Restrap bag :cool: oh and a charity shop saddlebag

I think it's a 1986 based on other courier threads on this forum. It doesn't have the paw print by the seatpost clamp which is the only way I've been able to tell it apart from the 1987 model.

I'm really pleased with this bike, it's been so satisfying learning how to replace parts and service my own bike, and it rides beautifully now - really fun on the more gravelly sections of towpath! I don't think I'll do much more to it beyond general maintenance but I'd be interested to hear thoughts on any recommended upgrades? A few things things I'm considering are replacing the brakes with something easier to set up and adjust - I think I read on here that Dia Compe 986/987s might be good for that? Also I'm keeping an eye out for some mid-rise BMX bars or something along those Klunker-y lines, I like the look of the Nitto bullmoose bars as well.