Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Oct 24, 2018 5:13 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:32 pm 
Devout Dirtbag

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:19 am
Posts: 148
Location: North-East
I recently bought a 1984 raleigh competion frame/forks, which came with the original suntour cyclone M2 mechs. I thought i'd have a stab at setting it up with a 7 speed shimano (NOS dura ace 7400) freewheel with 105 index shifters, took a while to set it up on the bike trainer (no cable adjuster on the rear mech!) but i got it working perfect - then i rode it and it started missing gears, so i switched it to friction and that works ok.
I used new KMC 9 speed chain (which does change cogs beautifully front & rear). I'm using a shimano 600 chainset.

Originally the M2 rear was 6 speed friction AFAIK.

I'm looking to buy a suntour 7 speed sprocket and (braze-on) index shifters, but the 80's suntour shifters i see for sale on ebay are for other types of suntour gears (i.e. Not cyclone), would these be fully compatible?

Am i better off just sticking with 6 speed for indexing, or do i just forget indexing and stay with the 7 speed shimano/suntour hybrid setup in friction mode?

Also is there a way of adding a cable adjuster to the rear mech?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:37 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:11 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: Left Coast of Canada
Velobase indicates that the M2 cyclone was designed as a friction shifting system so setting it up friction may be the best for shifting efficiency. Maybe some power shifters?

I know that Shimano 600 was indexed in the early 80's as I have a very nice example of that in my parts box, but Suntour lagged a bit behind them and the early suntour indexing had a poor reputation (although I've heard some say its because manufacturers didn't spec the correct chains often).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:45 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:29 pm
Posts: 15
Percybigun wrote:
(no cable adjuster on the rear mech!) but i got it working perfect - then i rode it and it started missing gears,


I reckon you stretched the cable a bit and/or it all bedded in and voila it started missing gears. Get one of those inline barrel adjuster things and put it somewhere close to the bars so you can keep things taught. They are a cheap experiment.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group