Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:50 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:20 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:27 am
Posts: 77
I cannot get a 7 speed shimano Exage derailleur to sync with the 7 speed indexed exage shifter,the shifter seems to pull too much cable,so at the moment I'm just using it on its friction setting and like this it operates very smoothly!

The Shifter, although correct for the groupset is not original to the bike it's an NOS replacement.

Is the answer to just buy 7 speed indexed shifters until one works?

If anyone has ever solved a similar problem I'd like to hear your advice,please.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:40 pm 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 27546
Location: Moomin Valley
pics please!

They should index fine - just about every Shimano rear road/ mtb mech (except some DA models) from around 1987 to the end of the 9spd era sits quite happy with 7/8/9, even 5spd indexed.

Just make sure you have the cable clamped at the right place on the mech

* tried to find you a diagram but cant seem to find one yet

If the Eage rear mech has that 'pre-shift' bit where the clamp moves before the mech, that may be the reason - it could be all gummed up. Try a 105 or 600 mech instead as these dont have that part.

Image

*heres one without the 'extra' shifty shifting bit

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:17 am 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:27 am
Posts: 77
Thanks a lot for your help and the pics.I've had a much closer inspection of the rear mech this morning and have discovered very faintly lettering on it spelling out VELOCE! It's not Shimano Exage,then,but Campagnolo!

Is this the cause of the problem a mismatched mech and shifter,the shifters are definitely Shimano Exage Sport shifters?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:33 am 
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 10:05 pm
Posts: 6476
Location: Aberdeen
I'm thinking the Shimano/Campagnolo mix is your problem here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:45 am 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 27546
Location: Moomin Valley
Yes, the campagnolo mech requires different cable pull. Cheaper to replace the mech with shimano as indexed campagnolo shifters can be expensive.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:53 am 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:27 am
Posts: 77
Great,many thanks problem identified then!


Regards,
Mark.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group