Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:35 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:15 am 
Special Retro Guru
Special Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 5663
Location: Don't mess with monkeys, man
dyna-ti wrote:
In case it hasnt been mentioned but a 32 bit system will only handle 3 GB of ram,above that needs a 64 bit


32-bit systems really struggle with larger amounts of memory like this (even accepting PAE).

On a user desktop PC, the 3GB switch can make a difference, though. The normal 2GB / 2GB for user / system usage, when upped to 3GB in favour of user programs can be of some use - as always it depends.

If you've got a memory heavy program that wants to use above 2, and you use it that way, using 3GB switch can be most useful. In other scenarios it's normally a balancing act between doing that, and taking the hit on PTEs.

As a generalism, though, for a normal desktop PC, if you've got 4GB RAM installed, it's unlikely for Windows to be able to use all of it (you'll likely see a loss, for the reasons descibed in the page linked. And if you use very memory intensive apps, that may well like to go above 2GB, and your machine doesn't run oddles of processes or other things (so really, one big monolithic app that really digs memory) then the 3GB switch can be useful.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:13 am 
MacRetro rider
MacRetro rider
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:43 am
Posts: 452
Location: Fife, Scotland
To check where your pc needs looking at for bluray playback go here:
http://www.engadgethd.com/2006/08/25/check-your-pc-for-blu-ray-and-hd-dvd-compatibility/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:18 am 
MacRetro rider
MacRetro rider
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:43 am
Posts: 452
Location: Fife, Scotland
To benchmark your system against other systems for free, download Sisoft Sandra Lite here:
http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html?dir=dload&location=sware_dl_3264


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:47 am 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 21002
Location: Sol Kitts
Cheers for all the replies folks, going to go down the more memory route and windows 7. I'll get a new monitor then investigate the blu-ray/graphics card side :) Don't want to over complicate things as it'll probably be only for a couple of years and I'll go for a new PC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:49 am 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 29704
Location: in the shed
is this any good for the Kaiser cause?

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=74926


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:22 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 17837
Location: Yorkshire, England
legrandefromage wrote:
is this any good for the Kaiser cause?

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=74926


No, it's worse that what he has already.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:30 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 17837
Location: Yorkshire, England
kaiser wrote:
Cheers for all the replies folks, going to go down the more memory route and windows 7. I'll get a new monitor then investigate the blu-ray/graphics card side :) Don't want to over complicate things as it'll probably be only for a couple of years and I'll go for a new PC.


Honestly I wouldn't waste your money.

Unless you can get very cheap DDR (PC2700/3200) memory it's a big waste of money. Though there should be loads lying around, probably in skips. I'll see what I have upstairs but a feeling it'll be 512MB stick at the most, though if you can fit 2 of them that'll put you up to 2GB and is more than you'll need.
You'll honestly not see much improvement going any higher.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:00 am 
Devout Dirtbag

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:02 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Wales, formaly of Scotland
+1 for going to the Crucial website and running their memory selctor

You may have to "ditch" the ram in the PC already to fit a matched 2x 2Gb set to get best performance. (maybe offer the spare up as karma + postage on here)

My PC even @ 32 bit does recognise the full 4Gb depends on the board etc, so it is worth it.

Had an email from crucial which says 4Gb is the _minimum_ for Windows 7...... I'd hold off W7 for six months at least to let the first wave of bugs to be found and hopefully fixed.

Cheers M.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:08 am 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 21002
Location: Sol Kitts
FluffyChicken wrote:
kaiser wrote:
Cheers for all the replies folks, going to go down the more memory route and windows 7. I'll get a new monitor then investigate the blu-ray/graphics card side :) Don't want to over complicate things as it'll probably be only for a couple of years and I'll go for a new PC.


Honestly I wouldn't waste your money.

Unless you can get very cheap DDR (PC2700/3200) memory it's a big waste of money. Though there should be loads lying around, probably in skips. I'll see what I have upstairs but a feeling it'll be 512MB stick at the most, though if you can fit 2 of them that'll put you up to 2GB and is more than you'll need.
You'll honestly not see much improvement going any higher.



Too late I picked up a 2gb stick yesterday from the local computer guy. He did talk me out of Windows 7 though. I've ordered a new monitor too and will investigate the card/blu-ray bit at a later date.

The best thing I did was an LGF tip and ran the msconfig and stopped most of the crap from loading at start up.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pipmeister and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group