Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:30 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:46 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:57 pm
Posts: 2437
Location: Kent UK
Just tried to fit my set of Crystal Design Vs to my Fournales fork and the lower crown was in the way! :evil:

All I need is to space out the brakes by 2mm and they'll work fine. Anyone got any ideas on how to do this?

I did try putting a 2mm washer behind the brake but when I tightened the pivot bolt the brake seized up. Is there any way to space out the bosses themselves?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:50 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:28 pm
Posts: 4179
Location: rutland
lets have some pics

are the bosses removable at all ?

theres normally a large thread on the ones that do , might be able to put a spacer there


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:15 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:57 pm
Posts: 2437
Location: Kent UK
Yes, the bosses can be unscrewed. I don't know if there's going to be enough thread on them to fit a 2mm spacer behind them.

I'll get some pics up tomorrow (or later today now I've looked at the time :lol: ).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:28 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:28 pm
Posts: 4179
Location: rutland
:lol:

yeas ago when me and mates would ride all night into the morning one mate would often say

" at the end of the day "

then another would reply

" or early in the morning :roll: "

:lol: ah good times . sometimes we wouldnt set off until about now :lol:

while im thinking about it one night sat in paignton multi story car park a tramp came up to us on a proflex with an extra inch shonkily welded onto the toptube/downtube . needless to say we didnt buy it off him for his asked £30 , even gave us some cider :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:10 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:57 pm
Posts: 2437
Location: Kent UK
Well here's the pics. I think I've sorted it now. I'll have to wait until morning to find out though. Basically put 2mm of washers behind the brake boss. It should be OK as there's 10mm of thread and I'll be using some locktite.


Attachments:
ForksnVs01.JPG
ForksnVs01.JPG [ 144.21 KiB | Viewed 601 times ]
ForksnVs02.JPG
ForksnVs02.JPG [ 58.37 KiB | Viewed 601 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:33 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:28 pm
Posts: 4179
Location: rutland
dont forget to account for slop in the canti regarding clearance

looks cool and i spy a cool tool too


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:23 pm 
Retrobike's #1 Comedy Genius
Retrobike's #1 Comedy Genius
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 4104
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim
I hade the same problem, but it was just the bracket bit that the noodle fitted into that was making contact- I just bent it enough so it would clear!! :P

That's not an option for the brakes ye've got, so here's hoping the spacers work.

Also, if ye have any manuals or owt for fournales forks, any chance of letting mr have a scan- there's very little info online.

Cheers,
Dav


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:57 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:57 pm
Posts: 2437
Location: Kent UK
perry wrote:
dont forget to account for slop in the canti regarding clearance

looks cool and i spy a cool tool too


Unusually for Vs these don't seem to have any detectable slop on them.

Lysander wrote:
Also, if ye have any manuals or owt for fournales forks, any chance of letting mr have a scan- there's very little info online.


I'll have to see if my scanner still works! I do so little scanning that it could be classified as retro! :lol: I don't even know if it'll work with XP/Vista as it uses the printer port to connect! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:05 pm 
Retrobike's #1 Comedy Genius
Retrobike's #1 Comedy Genius
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 4104
Location: Wolkenkuckucksheim
Xesh wrote:
............I don't even know if it'll work with XP/Vista as it uses the printer port to connect! :D


Mehh.............I had the same problem when I got my laptop- brilliant scanner, good fast scans, SCSI or printer connection!!............I've figgered it is possible to get a cable to go to usb-> printer serial, but it was cheaper just to buy an HP all in one printer for £50............still have an HP printer as well, ink refill kits, etc, nowt to connect to.............
:(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xerxes and 46 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group