Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 3:14 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: hardrive question
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:39 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10945
Location: kent
thanks to all your help previously , I know I need a new harddrive for the pc .

my pc is a e machine 420 , and hardrive is 80GB ultradma/100 .

I have looked on ebuyer , but not sure which one to get .

is DMA same as ATA , and do I need IDE or SATA connection .

I have tried to google alll that , but way too technical for me .

thanks again .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:58 pm 
South West Deputy AEC
South West Deputy AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:15 am
Posts: 2621
Location: DEVON
I got lost after the first sentance! :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:17 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:49 am
Posts: 4061
Location: A veritable floating palace
One labelled IDE should be fine. SATA drives may not fit your computer without a special controller, though, so ought to be avoided.
Don't be afraid! It's a straightforward job.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:22 pm 
Devout Dirtbag

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:02 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Wales, formaly of Scotland
ATA is sometimes also known as PATA or pararel ATA which is IDE

To check what you have got have a look at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hard_disk_drives
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AT_Attachment
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SATA

The ultraDMA relates to the cabling and further points to IDE / PATA

Also gave a look here a PATA vs SATA guide:
http://www.scan.co.uk/TekSpek/Index.aspx?ArticleId=16

Likely that you need an IDE / PATA drive but take the old one to Maplin's or other technical computing shop and they'll confirm what it is for sure, (before selling you one ;-)

M.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:30 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10945
Location: kent
thank you . :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:49 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 5111
Location: Out here in the perimeter...
It will almost certainly be IDE, these E420's used to have 80gb Seagate drives in them.

Post up here to find out how big you can go:

http://www.dexplor.com/phpBB2/viewforum ... fadb7a218d

Smallest IDE these days is around 160gb unless you are really lucky.


Neill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:57 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10945
Location: kent
ebuyer have some 80gb .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:47 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16748
Location: Yorkshire, England
Size of the drive shouldn't matter, you'll just not be able to use all of it if you hit some sort of boundary or you run a program to overcome it;)
The next barrier up is the 137GB barrier, I doubt it is a problem for you though.

The 845 chipset which you motherboard used (If I'm right, use this program to check http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) support up to ATA100*.
You cannot use SATA devices on the board (no connectors for one thing).

I wouldn't bother with addon cards as a budget mobo/cpu/ram and integrated stuff** would be a better buy along with a SATA drive.


oh I am assuming you motherboard is IM845GL looks like plenty in google search





*though if you see ATA133 mentioned that will work fine as well

** e.g. Ebuyer QF codes
139975 CPU (Intel E1200 dual core) £37
148294 Motherboard with Video (Asus P5KPL-AM iG31 mATX) £37
131300 250GB SATA Harddrive (Seagate)
142350 1GB DDR2 RAM (OCZ)
All for £118.46 delivered
(add another £15 to £20 if you wanted a cheap new case with powersupply)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:48 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10945
Location: kent
I have ordered this one, and hoping it will work .

I am fed up to re install xp everyday . :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:31 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16748
Location: Yorkshire, England
That will work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dyna-ti, FairfaxPat and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group