Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:47 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:25 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 4916
Right, so i've got Sky+ but only a single feed. Through some trickery I am able to use most functionality except watch live and record simaltaneously (no big hassle as I can always flip my LCD to freeview).

BUT, i've read about this badger:

http://www.pvrjunction.co.uk/sky-to-dep ... ble-homes/

So I assume this is something that would need to be installed on the shared dish that lives atop my block of apartments, question is if all us residents got together and managed to persuade the management to install it, what would need to be done at the socket end in each flat? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:36 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:55 pm
Posts: 8204
Location: New Forest, UK
As far as I understand nothing - but you each need CSS-compatible set top boxes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:36 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 4916
hamster wrote:
As far as I understand nothing - but you each need CSS-compatible set top boxes.


Ah, so actually there is a differant sort of box that only requires a single feed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:14 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:55 pm
Posts: 8204
Location: New Forest, UK
The issue is the shared LNB on the dish I think. So there is an intermediate stage on the base of the dish that then remodulates stuff for the boxes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:28 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 4916
hamster wrote:
The issue is the shared LNB on the dish I think. So there is an intermediate stage on the base of the dish that then remodulates stuff for the boxes.


Yeah, but you said I'd need a different set top box. How is it different?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:40 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:13 pm
Posts: 1661
Location: fettling in the cave
I have a spare dish with x4 feeds from my old house which I had sky+


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:59 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 4916
Alas I can't change the dish. I live in a city centre apartment and can only use the feed from the communal dish the is situated on the roof. I can't install my own dish otherwise I'd have had this done when the engineer installedthe box :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:03 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
try avforums or digitalspy :)
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/foru ... .php?f=141


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:33 am 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:55 pm
Posts: 8204
Location: New Forest, UK
Tallpaul wrote:
hamster wrote:
The issue is the shared LNB on the dish I think. So there is an intermediate stage on the base of the dish that then remodulates stuff for the boxes.


Yeah, but you said I'd need a different set top box. How is it different?


It's a CSS STB, specifically designed for shared antenna systems. The whole problem is that the LNB on the tip of the dish is told what to do by the box, it's not just a passive thing like a TV antenna on the roof. So you have to have a statem that can cope with (say) 20 boxes all asking for different things.

To cut a long story short you need a specific MDU (multiple dwelling unit) setup installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:44 am 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 4916
hamster wrote:
Tallpaul wrote:
hamster wrote:
The issue is the shared LNB on the dish I think. So there is an intermediate stage on the base of the dish that then remodulates stuff for the boxes.


Yeah, but you said I'd need a different set top box. How is it different?


To cut a long story short you need a specific MDU (multiple dwelling unit) setup installed.


When you say setup, what do you mean?

My questions is still whether my current Sky+ box that requires two feeds would work if the device in the link was installed? :?

You first said it must be CSS compatible, then you say it must be a specific MDU setup. Forgive my confusion but I just want to know if the box i have will work if the building management installed the device. What I also need to know is if that device is just installed at the dish and means that the existing drop leads and single sockets in each apartment are sufficient. If all this is yes, how does the single feed from the socket on my wall connect to the box?

If we are all going to have to buy new Sky+ boxes then there is no point persuing this.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: konatime and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group