Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:52 pm 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5982
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Cool.

Thanks for the comments. I had seen the talk talk offer but really i wanted to utilise the draft n compatability of the two macs.

Keep the info coming though :wink: :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:31 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:57 pm
Posts: 2437
Location: Kent UK
One thing you need to find out is that your broadband provider will allow you to use another modem to connect. Some companies (Sky :evil: ) lock their network so that you have to use their modem. These companies are in the minority though.

I had this problem with Sky and trying to upgrade my network to Gigabit. None of the modem/routers would connect to the broadband network. I eventually phoned Sky and they told me that I had to use their modem and anything else wasn't compatible. This is because Sky use custom firmware even though the modem they supply is a Netgear one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jonnugget69, Midlife, technodup, videojetman and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group