Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:50 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: IT/Network Advice Needed
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:29 pm 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5981
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Hi Guys,

After some IT advice RE: home networking.

I currently have an iMac that is hardwired to an ADSL modem.

Now from January I will be working from home so need to split the internet connection to two computers - I'm thinking router :?

However Mrs LMTTM has an iBook that currently dosen't get connected to the internet - but she would like it to be.

So I'm now thinking wireless router :?

But am I right in thinking I can get rid of my modem and use a wireless modem/router? :?

I would like the least hassle in setting this up as I would like my iMac and work computer (pc) to be hardwired rather than wireless and just use Mrs LMTTM iBook wirelessly ( and maybe a PDA :roll: )

I had been looking at the Apple Airport Express but I still need the modem :? :roll:

Any suggestions? Should i be looking at the "draft N" capable stuff as both the macs are "draft N" compatible and the walls in our house are dead thick :lol:

As is the writer of this - dead thick! :lol:

Please keep any responses in laymans terms if possible :lol: :lol:

Thank you ,

And Merry Christmas to all :xmas-cool: :xmas-cool: :xmas-cool:

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:40 pm 
Sabrina the Teenage Witch
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:23 pm
Posts: 720
Location: Mammoths deserve to be cloned. From what I've seen in 'Ice Age' they are jolly good sports.
You need a wireless modem-router, like the Netgear 834GT. It also will take ethernet cabling if you want to hard-wire the connection. Unless you live in what estate agents would term "Substantial" premises, you should be fine in terms of wireless signal.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:13 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 2048
Location: Vienna, Austria
letmetalktomark wrote:
I currently have an iMac that is hardwired to an ADSL modem.

hardwired is network cable connection or usb? if your iMac is connected to the ADSL modem via USB you are out of luck. if its connected via a network cable a wireless router is the way to go. do you have a friend or relative who knows how to configure a wireless lan router? if yes invite him, cook him a nice meal and try to configure it together. i have ~6 years of experience in IT business and my experience is that people tend to become desperate when they try to configure routers on their own whithout the background knowledge.
good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:18 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16747
Location: Yorkshire, England
Actually it's a Wi-Fi/Switch Router you need, but people tend to leave the Switch part of as most (not all) come with the Wired Switch as well.
Linksys WRT-310 WRT-160 or other similar looking Linksys will see the job done. These consistently come out top in the reviews I have read.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:18 pm 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5981
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Thank you.

Its a ethernet connection between the modem and the main computer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:21 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16747
Location: Yorkshire, England
Inigo Montoya wrote:
letmetalktomark wrote:
I currently have an iMac that is hardwired to an ADSL modem.

if your iMac is connected to the ADSL modem via USB you are out of luck....


?

You just buy a Wi-Fi Router with built in DSL modem


Saying as you say it's Ethernet and not many use Ethernet to connect ADSL, who is your provider ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:30 pm 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5981
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Talk Talk is my provider - may have my terminology wrong :roll: :lol:

I'll have a look at the Linksys WRT-310/ WRT-160

Thank you.

Confused Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 3:08 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:36 pm
Posts: 16747
Location: Yorkshire, England
Talk Talk are ADSL and no idea what they use now (though I think normally it was USB by them)

USB is well USB ;-) Ethernet is like your phone jack (in the phone end, clear small square bit) bit a bit bigger, lol, called 8P8C or RJ45 and looks like this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ether ... 160054.jpg

If it is Ethernet and your network then either a Cable or ADSL router should be fine. If a Cable one you just connect to the Modem, if DSL it will replace the modem as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:30 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:30 pm
Posts: 730
Location: Balham, London
Talk Talk offer a free wireless router with their service. If you are an old customer then you are prob out of the existing 18 month contract so you could ring them up and try to haggle a free wireless router off them, if they say no then ask to be transferred to someone who can give you the MAC code and they you will be moving providers. They will prob buckle and give you the new router.

or for £30 this would be perfect.

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/118662/sh ... e=extended


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:22 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 97
Location: North Yorkshire
If you are with Talk Talk they will sell you a wireless router upgrade for £30.
I have installed one of these recently all you need to do is load in the CD and it virtually does everything for you, you can be up and running in less than 1 hour!
All this was done on a PC and unfortunately cannot comment on how it would be to install on a MAC.

Cheers,

Roger


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mattr and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group