Frame buying/making advice.

Tranquility Base

Devout Dirtbag
I'm in a bit of a quandry but I know you lot can help.

I'm trying to source a frame that will cover the following requirements:

-29er wheels for a bit of cross/off road (not confined to skinny cross knobblys but able to take something a bit wider) but also able to swap to skinny road tyres for commuting and training.
-Strong enough to be loaded up with panniers for a round the world trip when the time comes.
-Steel ideally.

My original idea was to build one on the Dave Yates course but he says I need to arrive with some frame measurements and angles as he hasn't done anything like this. Does anyone know how a complete novice in this area can calculate this.

Many thanks in advance

Russell
That's just the ticket, thanks a lot.
If anyone else has suggestions please post as I'm really enjoying looking at all these niche frame building sites.

29er

Will receive a custom, self designed, frame next week that has been fabricated to fulfill all the needs you mentioned (except the 29 inch wheels due to expedition needs). Solitude cycles are actually built by Lee Cooper Cycles in Coventry. Lee knows his stuff but is not my preference for a builder. Dave Yates is very good as is Charlie Ralph (Alves) or for road rigs Argos Racing Cycles. Its all down to budget and knowing who is really going to build your frame, whether their design ideas meet your own and how much attention to detail they are going to put in. I also looked at Dave's course and I've also dabbled in brazing the occasional bike at home. Unfortunately time constraints did not allow me to self build on this occasion so previous experience led me back to Alves Framesets.