Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:36 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Computer help
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:02 pm 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 20772
Location: Sol Kitts
I really must be getting old :roll: I haven't the foggiest about computers these days, when before I would have no problem taking them to bits and buggering about. Anyroads I have joined the wireless network brigade and need to know if my computer has a wireless adaptor or if I need one, where should I start to look? Appreciate this could be a minefield question so chip in with any help if you can :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:14 pm 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
if it is brand new pc. then I would have thought it would be a wireless capable pc. If older than a few years then would have to buy a wireless plug thingy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:24 pm 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 20772
Location: Sol Kitts
Reckon it is a few years anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:51 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:36 pm
Posts: 1087
Location: The Netherlands
You may wanna have a look at the network connections (Start -> Control Panel -> Network Connections).

See if there's anything there besides "Local Area Connection". If you have a wireless adapter installed there should also be something like "Wireless Connection" be in there. If there's only "Local Area Connection" you probably have to go get a WiFi thingie.

Hope it helps...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:28 pm 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 20772
Location: Sol Kitts
Cheers folks ran a network scan thing and I don't think I've got one. Any pitfalls when buying?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:33 pm 
South East AEC
South East AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:39 pm
Posts: 3882
I have a Belkin USB one you can have for £12 deliverd. PM me if intereted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:27 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
kaiser wrote:
Cheers folks ran a network scan thing and I don't think I've got one. Any pitfalls when buying?


you connecting through Cable (Virgin aand similar) or BT line


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:35 pm 
MacModerator
MacModerator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:59 pm
Posts: 20772
Location: Sol Kitts
computerbitz wrote:
kaiser wrote:
Cheers folks ran a network scan thing and I don't think I've got one. Any pitfalls when buying?


you connecting through Cable (Virgin aand similar) or BT line



BT line


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:37 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:35 am
Posts: 630
Location: northants
i generally find the best solution is a pci card (assuming you have a free pci slot!).


i just bought a linksys one from play.com - about 16/17 quid delivered.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:51 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
kaiser wrote:
computerbitz wrote:
kaiser wrote:
Cheers folks ran a network scan thing and I don't think I've got one. Any pitfalls when buying?


you connecting through Cable (Virgin aand similar) or BT line



BT line


you got the wireless modem yet or looking at buying one if got one what make and model is it

internal wireless pci and exertnal usb makes no odds what one but the type of router/modem and card speed you got does as we have 802.11 b, g and n defining difference is speed and connections the router modem accepts so if you got a mimo enabled router (multi in multi out = more lanes on the motor way to enable faster speeds ) it makes no sense getting a standard one that wont use all lanes if you understand what i mean.

things to ask how many computers and consoles connecting to it and also what they are going to be doing are you a heavy downloader or not


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group