Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:43 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:24 pm 
Special Retro Guru
Special Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 5946
Location: busy forgetting how to edge flip on a 11x11 monster cube///...
you have a partitioned hard drive..sometimes the second hard drive has a hidden part for restoring the pc but most times its just a way of keeping something seperate ..like having vista and xp on the same computer.you have to creat a file/folder to put your stuff in .dont forget if you do drag and drop it may take a while to copy the stuff over.when youve done it delete the original(unless its photos in which case dont or your other half will clean your pc with your vitals).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:17 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1614
Location: Edenbridge, Kent
Yeah, don't just try to move My Documents, does not quitre work that way. Set yourself up some new folders on the D Drive and then copy your files across, only deleting from the C drive when you are sure the copy worked.

Defo buy an external drive and back all this up though, they are cheap as chips.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:35 am 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 12267
Location: Penarth
Thanks SB, Gibble, Steve, Iwas and Geoff.
I might well have a go later today.....eeek.
Cheers, Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:12 am 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 12267
Location: Penarth
Opps, that went pear-shaped.
I'll try again after a strong coffee.
Think I may well get an external hard drive...mainly for photos....any recommendations?
Again, thanks
Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:14 am 
Special Retro Guru
Special Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 5946
Location: busy forgetting how to edge flip on a 11x11 monster cube///...
wot happened?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:23 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:32 am
Posts: 1614
Location: Edenbridge, Kent
Type of hard drive depends on what you are using it for - if it is a back-up device for what you are storing on your PC then it does not need to be too flash. If you are going to move all your photos off you PC and have a seperate photo drive, then you will need to get a decent one and get another to back that up!

TBH, most of them are decent quality, but being a PC numpty, I would go for something I recognised and probably buy from PC world rather than risk buying a cheapy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:15 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:23 pm
Posts: 2596
Location: leicester
wireless or usb?? i have a netgear sc100 that is CRAP.wouldnt mind a better version myself...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:08 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 12267
Location: Penarth
stew-b wrote:
wireless or usb?? i have a netgear sc100 that is CRAP.wouldnt mind a better version myself...


Good point.....USB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:33 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
if wireless router has additional free ports then look at a networked attached storage (NAS) drive can access the drive from any pc or laptop on home network then without unplugging and plugging in between computers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:35 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
Harryburgundy wrote:
stew-b wrote:
how many local disks does it say you have and how big are they(right click and then properties).


Acer (C: ) 35.5GB Used 20.9
ACERDATA (D: ) 35.7GB Used 215MB

I'm guessing that is quite small?

Should I move say, My Documents to D.

Defraged recently and went through Programs and got rid of some unwanted/unused stuff.

Thanks for all the replies and help.


the used section is what is on the drive and if that is used and not available space remaining you shouldnt be getting the warning at all


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gradeAfailure, Joe_Rides, paulswheels and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group