Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:38 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:07 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 1578
would a graphics card with s video out work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:13 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
neilll wrote:
Fenton wrote:
cool! can I do this myself? any graphics card suggestions? i 'm not very clued up about this sort of thing................!


It needs to be PCI and have TV Out on it....according to the manual (assuming Computerbitz posted up the correct manual) you have one spare PCI slot so your card could go here.

PCI-E wont work though...gotta be PCI (if I read the manual correct...I did only skim thru...)


Reading between the lines at ClubVAIO it is PCI-e as on suggestions for new graphics they giving pci-e cards


http://club.vaio.sony.co.uk/clubvaio/gb ... read=42884


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:24 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 1578
Guys, my tv has s-video in............ so would a graphics card with s-video out work ok? many thanks for all your help with this, i've still not sorted it but need to soon!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:08 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
yes it will.

Ive not read the thread fully, but are you intending to use your TV as a monitor? If so i will warn you the image quallity will not be any where near high enogh definition to use comfortably.

If however your just planning to watch movies on it, it'll be ok.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:21 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 1578
I was planning on doing mate............. its a vaio media pc so thats the idea i believe, I love my b&o too much to get a new one though! I suppose I could buy an LCD tv and put it upstairs or something.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:30 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
TVs in general do not offer the same sorts of resolutions as equivelent sized monitors, CRT/LCD or other, just be aware of that...although modern LCD's and plasma's are better than old CRT's.

On your CRT it would be likely that you wouldnt want to run any higher than 640X480 or maybe 800X600 as you will find the text is too blurred to read, even then it wont be comfortable.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group