Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:10 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:38 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
Fenton looked at the user manua and specsl for the VAIO and looking at it for you to get the best out of this i would say its best getting a new tele or a digh definition monitor another option maybe to get a low profile graphics card if your tele has D-sub in. But in all honesty for full benefits of the system the new tele better option.

Link for the manual

ftp://ftp.vaio-link.com/pub/Manuals/Des ... 2_H_EN.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:25 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 5111
Location: Out here in the perimeter...
Embarrassing for someone in my line of work I know but I'm in a similar situation :oops: :oops:

Solution = SCART to RCA Phono Audio Video/S-VHS Adapter/Converter
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SCART-to-RCA-Phon ... dZViewItem

I run S-Video out the back of my Media Centre into a SCART on the back of our 'soon to meet an untimely demise' ( :twisted: ) rear projection TV*** and it's fine.
You gotta run the audio separately but you have got choices....I run left and right into an Auxillary input on my 5.1 Surround Sound but you could just as easily run the audio direct to your Bang & Olufson (assuming it's got audio in?)


*** We're moving house soon and that sucker will get replaced by a plasma panel and then I'll get an HDMI graphics card for the Media Center :D



There also looks to be a spare slot on your box so you could fit a graphics card with TV Out :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:30 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 1578
I don't think the vaio has S video output though mate, only input (see photo) or am i missing something? Ireally appreciate all of your help on this guys by the way.....................


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:34 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 5111
Location: Out here in the perimeter...
Fenton wrote:
I don't think the vaio has S video output though mate, only input (see photo) or am i missing something? Ireally appreciate all of your help on this guys by the way.....................


solution above in red then :wink: (cheap too)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:53 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:40 pm
Posts: 1578
cool! can I do this myself? any graphics card suggestions? i 'm not very clued up about this sort of thing................!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:56 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:57 pm
Posts: 900
Location: Leeds
Alternatively get a AV amp that accepts RGB inputs and then out put that to your TV. Then you can set up 5.1 \ 7.1 etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:57 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
Connection should be pci-e and looking at the vaio it will need to be a low profile card look at something like

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Componen ... ctId=30971


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:58 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:57 pm
Posts: 900
Location: Leeds
Also just noticed it has coax out. You can use this into a scart block. Cant you?

Sorry if this has been suggested already


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:00 pm 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:48 pm
Posts: 5111
Location: Out here in the perimeter...
Fenton wrote:
cool! can I do this myself? any graphics card suggestions? i 'm not very clued up about this sort of thing................!


It needs to be PCI and have TV Out on it....according to the manual (assuming Computerbitz posted up the correct manual) you have one spare PCI slot so your card could go here.

PCI-E wont work though...gotta be PCI (if I read the manual correct...I did only skim thru...)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:06 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 2192
Location: Liverpool
s_zigmond wrote:
Also just noticed it has coax out. You can use this into a scart block. Cant you?

Sorry if this has been suggested already


the coax out is to connect to a av amp

suggest read the manual as linked

Graphics is best option to change thought i hadput suggestion in my first post, i still would consider getting the HDMI tele a few bargains available at the mo aswell from samsung but if uou go with thegraphics shange check the card if it isnt low profile you will have a lot more options


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jonnugget69, kingbling, My_Teenage_Self, pebs, technodup, Woz and 56 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group