Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:33 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:13 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:33 pm
Posts: 3973
Location: Brighton
my laptop only has VGA output, my TV has VGA and HDMI inputs.

is it worth getting a vga to HDMI cable?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1M-HDMI-to-S- ... 2a2e019ce9

or should i just use the VGA input on the TV?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-5ft-1-5m- ... 1c34c78685


how do i find out if this laptop (Dell Latitude E4500) can support resolutions with HDMI input to the TV...???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:45 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:33 pm
Posts: 723
Location: Highlands
Assuming you have another means of passing audio to the TV (if required), I'd just use VGA.

Edit to say - that first cable doesn't look like it does what you were thinking of anyway... you'd need something with more "brains" in it which would be consequently more expensive. Since your TV already contains those "brains" behind the VGA input, you'd be wasting your cash :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:49 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Trancecentral
The first cable wont work, standard VGA from your Laptop isn't digital for a HDMI connection.

VGA to your TV should be plenty good enough, not full digital HDMI but for PC ripped videos they're probably ripped to a lower resolution anyway. The desktop on the TV screen won't look monitor clear but as a 2nd display for movies it's just fine.

As was said you need to output the audio from the speaker socket on the laptop to audio in on the TV, if available and if it allows audio from that source and video from VGA, or you could connect audio from the laptop to amp and speakers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:10 pm 
Old School Hero

Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:56 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Flipping between Wigan and Lincoln
most TVs have a 3.5mm stereo jack socket alongside the VGA input so you can connect a lead from there to the headphone jack on the laptop.

the graphics chip in the laptop should detect what resolutions the tv supports and offer them to you once connected (if the tv is full HD then 1920x1080 is what you need, I can't recall the horizontal resolution for 720p offhand as I've never actually used it.

as others have pointed out, VGA to hdmi won't work as VGA is analogue - dvi to hdmi might if It's the right (digital) kind of dvi as they use the same signal format.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:21 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:28 pm
Posts: 247
Location: Bognor Regis
My 2nd PC is set up to output to TV at full HD using DVI to HDMI ; works a treat. 720P incidentally is defined as 1280x720 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:26 pm 
King of the Skip Monkeys
King of the Skip Monkeys
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm
Posts: 26163
Location: Moomin Valley
kampos wrote:
My 2nd PC is set up to output to TV at full HD using DVI to HDMI ; works a treat. 720P incidentally is defined as 1280x720 :)


Yes, well, thats digital to digital. Unfortunately VGA is analog and requires some jiggery pokery before it can be sent to a DVI/ HDMI socket.

Then you have the digital handshake problem. ANY copyright material will give you a blank screen.

and 'full HD' is 1080P btw.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:40 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:33 pm
Posts: 3973
Location: Brighton
my craptop doesnt have DVI. just VGA and S-Video.....and an abundance of USB sockets....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:58 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:28 am
Posts: 5641
Location: Gorleston-on-sea (If there is a bright center to the universe this is place furthest from it
I have been successfully running a VGA cable to my HD tv for years now with no problems so I would just use the VGA connection personally....

Slight thread hi-jack now, I have realized that I am converting DVI to VGA to achieve this but I have a DVI to HDMI cable around here somewhere, my question is would I get any real advantage from swapping to this cable :?:

Cheers :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:30 am 
Old School Hero

Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:56 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Flipping between Wigan and Lincoln
the dvi to hdmi should give slightly better picture quality (no converting from digital to analogue and back again).

also, if the dvi socket is wired for it, you may get audio through there too (this is in the spec but isn't always implemented).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:52 am 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:28 am
Posts: 5641
Location: Gorleston-on-sea (If there is a bright center to the universe this is place furthest from it
I thought the improved picture might be the case but I had no idea I might also potentially get audio as well definite bonus :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], My_Teenage_Self, rc200ti and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group