Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:23 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:37 am 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5981
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Hello all,

In the process of buying a home computer and I am quite taken by the Apple iMacs. Problem is i know nothing about Apple and their OS.

All I require is the ability to play with music, video, photo and MS packages.

I know that for the first three the Apple are very good but not so sure about the Apple version of office and it compatability with the MS version.

Can anybody help?

Or does anyone have any strong reasons to buy/not buy one?

Many thanks in advance :D

Mark

:D :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:50 am 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
The Mac MS office stuff is Perfectly compatible.

I use a version of open office for the mac...its not as good compatibility wise (say 95%) however it is free.

OS X itself is simply superb.

Im a Development engineer, and spen my working hours sat with a high powered, dual screened CAD machine running XP. At home I have a Top spec quad core Vista PC for playing games on. For any emails/music/films/web etc i use my little Ibook..its simply nice to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:07 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 577
Location: SoYo® North Of Nowhere
we use microsoft office for osx all the time and never had any probs at all with it :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:41 pm 
B.o.T.Y. Winner / Gold Trader
B.o.T.Y. Winner / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 4114
Location: Amsterdam
Bear-Chan wrote:
we use microsoft office for osx all the time and never had any probs at all with it :D


same here.
The time that Mac/Windows gave any problems is behind us,...although some people are still screaming that they are not compatible,...they do not know what the are talking about and probably Microshit owners :twisted: :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:51 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Bristol
PM me your address and I'll burn you off a copy of Office for Mac. Also, my mate's company ( Absolute-Mac.co.uk ) sells Macs at a not unreasonable price....just don't get him started about retro bikes....he knows more than scant!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:44 pm 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:41 pm
Posts: 10015
I have been using a Mac now for about a year , and its the best thing I ever did.. they are brill , had no problems with viruses or major crashes etc, all the software is easy to use.. I dont know about running PC software, on the mac though, I never needed to use any of that PC rubbish... buy one you wont regret it, it may take you a while to get used to if your use to a PC but once you've adapted you'll love it... highly recommended..

Si


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:06 am 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
Certainly easy to use. BUT please if/when you buy a Mac get Norton. They do get hit by virus. One of mine was downed by one. And my currant machine was saved when Norton picked two out and killed them.
Thats in 5 years of owning a Mac. So nothing like a pc :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:10 am 
BANNED USER
BANNED USER

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:41 pm
Posts: 10015
Yes I use norton too ,, no problems here either .. :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:17 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:12 pm
Posts: 3898
Location: The Shire
No problems with Office on a Mac. The software's been around for years now and always been perfect compatability with the PC version.

If I didn't need a PC to run AutoCAD I wouldn't own one at all.....Mac's are just so much nicer to own. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:19 am 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
Likewise but solidworks over autocad.... and im a gamer...which macs just dont do well on (in terms of getting latest/ as many games)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BerthaPog, Bing [Bot], kermitgreenkona88, sandgrown and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group