Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:14 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

Post subject: Mercedes S*#$ service
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:02 pm 
Retro Guru

My Sister bought a new Mercedes in 2009.

Before her warranty expired we checked the car over to see if there was anything that may need replacing before it gets worse and she has to foot the bill herself.

The only things they replaced are the wheel nuts.

Below are pictures of the other parts they are refusing to replace:

O/S/R window trim

O/S/R wheel

All 4 wheel centre caps

Mercedes are claiming all of the above is due to the cleaning products used and refuse to cover the replacement parts.

As it happens I usually clean my sisters car when I do mine, as I've been occupying her garage with my toys for the last 10 years, and I use Autoglym (as approved by Mercedes).

Autoglym was also supllied with the valet kit in the car.

I've been using Autoglym for over 10 years, with it never causing any damage.

Can anyone offer any advice that's had a similar experience with Mercedes please?

We are getting no where fast, my next call is to Autoglym to try and ruffle their feathers.

Whilst I don't for a minute think it's their products, they may get annoyed enough to contact Mercedes.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:11 pm 
Retro Guru

I think you may have a point with the window trim but i don't think you stand a chance with the wheels. As you pointed out you've gone looking and all you can find is minute wear and tear damage on the wheels, i'm not sure what your expectations are, do you expect it to be perfect after 3 years? I'm a member of www.mbclub.co.uk you could try there to see if anyone shares you're point of view.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:12 pm 
Retro Guru

Didn't mercs used to have a 30 year anti-corrosion warranty or something?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:13 pm 
Retro Guru