Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:37 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:17 am 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
Apple Mac for me. :D use MS all day at work :twisted: :twisted:
I couldn't go home to a computer. If using MS as well. It would feel like being at work 24/7 :x
Plus Mac so much easier to use. As i'm tech inept. Their not perfect but like every thing designed by human beings its only as good as the human race :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:33 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
XP at work (were not upgrading at work yet due to complexities with software compatabillity etc)

Vista on my home desktop (essentially used for working from home & mainly games)

Apple Ibook for lounging around browsing/ managing my music on.

out of the lot OSx on the apple is by far the "nicest" to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:10 pm 
BoTM Winner | Feature Bike | Gold Trader
BoTM Winner | Feature Bike | Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:39 pm
Posts: 2282
Location: Finland
XP SP2 for me.
It been said that even with the upcoming bug-fixing SP1 for Vista, it's still slower than the XP.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:46 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:33 pm
Posts: 723
Location: Highlands
mattbrown wrote:
or try linux, if you dare


I did, ten years ago this year... and have been blissfully MS free ever since :-)

Still, if other unfortunates wish to suffer, that's their business... I don't mind, I get paid to fix people's IT messes no matter which OS they run ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:57 pm 
East Midlands AEC
East Midlands AEC
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 15067
Location: Derby, UK
I love Linux but it's just still a bit too fiddly for non-techies like me. Things just don't work out of the box, you have to get plug-ins for this, add-ins for that and then try to install them...

I'd love to stay with Linux but just don't have the patience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:12 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:29 pm
Posts: 389
need an MS OS unfortunately, due to the software I have to used for uni, Solidworks, 3DS Max

should have realised when the uni fitted a couple of labs out with new PCs over the summer, they stuck with XP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:35 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:12 pm
Posts: 2993
Location: Northumberland
When i bought my laptop it had Vista on it. Other than the different layout of office, i didn't have any problems with it. I have upgraded the ram to 2gig, but given that was only £30 i'd have done it anyway.
When i built the desktop i went for quadcore, so needed a 64bit system, seemed pointless going for XP, so bought Vista.
The only problems i've encountered are hp are too lazy to create vista drivers for my old scanner and itunes doesn't work properly with 64 bit os (inc XP64)
I know theres been posts about how bad Vista is, but i have no real problems with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:06 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:19 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Brisbane
XP SP2 on dualcore/3GB RAM for me. She flies! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:27 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 8423
Location: The desolate flats of Cambridgeshire
amt27 wrote:
need an MS OS unfortunately, due to the software I have to used for uni, Solidworks, 3DS Max

should have realised when the uni fitted a couple of labs out with new PCs over the summer, they stuck with XP


Ooh a fellow Solidworks user, hi :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:04 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:29 pm
Posts: 389
JeRkY wrote:
Ooh a fellow Solidworks user, hi :)


no expert tho and we are not trained in it at uni, they teach us Pro Engineer,


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FairfaxPat, Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group