Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:44 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ISP Peeps
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:46 pm 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5982
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Okay here it is…..


Currently my only foray into the world of retrobike is at work ( god bless them!) :D

But I’m moving jobs and feel that it would be a bad impressions drilling their connection looking at bike p*rn! :roll:

Soooooo

Need to get connected at home. Have an activated BT line so I believe the world is my oyster! :wink:

Any ISP I should look at :D /stay away from :evil: ?

Any info would be greatly received.

Mark


:D :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:39 pm 
MacRetro rider
MacRetro rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 2:11 pm
Posts: 8700
Location: DUNDEE
If you can get it get virgin cable, absolutley solid connection, and pay for whatever speed you like.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:52 pm 
East Midlands AEC
East Midlands AEC
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 15067
Location: Derby, UK
yup second that. never had a problem in 4 years with Virgin (formerly NTL).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:04 pm 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
Cable is 8) ADSL is crap. I've had both and i'm ADSL now and its better with this present company -Waitrose. But cable connection is sooooo good. When i had it never a problem. When come back from holiday just had too re-boot the modem and then normal service. :D :D :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:44 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:12 pm
Posts: 2993
Location: Northumberland
I've had Waitrose, very nice people to deal with. Any problem they resolve very quickly. Now with O2 as my mobile is with them, so get the 16meg broadband half price. Only had it 2wks, but seems ok so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:46 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:40 pm
Posts: 1526
Location: Atherton, Manchester
Virgin BB here too 8) although there tv is pants :cry:

Beauty of virgin is once you have been connected a while phone them up have a moan tell them your thinking of binning it off and they will give you a discount to keep you. I pay at the moment £8 a month for my 2mb connection 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:35 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:57 am
Posts: 265
Location: Pennines / Manchester / Worcestershire
I've had problems with Virgin, can't always get on (fnar!)

No seriously about 4 times in the last 3 weeks I have been unable to get online (including today when it has been off from at least 12 noon, possibly earlier, to about half an hour ago). When it goes off it has been off for up to 3 days at a time, getting a bit annoyed off with it and am going to ask for some money back. Problem is definitely at their end - when I've rung up their automated thingy it's said there's been problems in my area.

I'll be ringing them and 'threatening to bin it'....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:07 am 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Posts: 13409
Location: Warwick
virgin for me 25 quid a month just for internet tho...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:26 am 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10945
Location: kent
Virgin cable for me . £30 a month far internet , phone and Tv .

TV is crap compared to SKY , especially the listings on the screen , keep freezing .

Internet is ok , best bit is once they have connected you , you can just uninstall their software and just use explorer to connect .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:32 am 
Posh Mark
Posh Mark
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:49 pm
Posts: 5982
Location: As far from the city as you can be ....
Cheers folks :D

Off to start phone-ing around and see if the house gets Virgin......


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group