1997 Specialized S-works M2

DeletedUser006

Old School Grand Master
The new one to my ever growing collection, Was trawling through ebay and stumbled upon this beast, I only got it last night in the rain and am working away so no time to play.

I am not a Specialized expert but am sure someone knows the exact date and spec on this.

It has XTR V Brakes and rear mech M950
XT 8sp shifters, front mech , rear hub and levers
Mavic 217 SUP sunset rims :cool: with snowflake lacing on front :?
S-Works chainset and front hub

I dont think the forks are original but would like to add corret era suspension in the very near future, SID's I would guess.

I will spend time doing the retro service and vallet whilst in the mess of a garage of bikes and bits :LOL:

Let me know your thoughts or if you have one !

Cheers :cool:

I cant wait to get working on it, I will post some pics when the nasty bits such as saddle , snowflake spokes, Spoke protector and bars have been replaced.

obviously looking forward to riding it too :LOL:

I'd be interested to know the beginning of the frame number, as I'm trying to ID mine at the mo. Current consensus is that it's a 98 s-works.

Can see the potential in yours, I love projects like that, will look forward to seeing it progress.

Ben

Hi,

I thought 1998 Specialized were 80mm travel corrected with a slightly steeper and more aggressive head angle, easy to recognise due to the more squared off lower head tube gusset and cable boss placement.

To be honest that looks like a 1996/1997 frame?, and Sid's are a little too long on it, unless fitted with a Judy SL crown.

I may be wrong?, though I have owned a few Stumpy's, could have my years mixed up?