My '90 Marin Palisades 1x8 commuter rat - finished!

Korszun

Devout Dirtbag
So, this is my first project. I joined probably about 6 weeks ago after being inspired by a friend's raleigh burners while helping them move house. I don't remember what led me to zolatone Marins initially but I was in love with them in the 90s and now I have one, I'm just stoked. Check out the below for the 'before' shot.

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewto ... p;t=260352

The learning process began, my initial thought was to make it a single speed, then a 1x7/8, then the full 21/24 speed MTB with upgraded parts. I settled on a 1x8 hybrid type of urban commuter with a distinctive style and quality parts.

The strip down was done the same week as the purchase. It wasn't too difficult, the headset and BB were shot (had to weld several feet of rebar to the BB fixed side to get it undone!) but the frame was good. I began purchasing parts. I decided on XT as the bike came with an M739 rear mech. First came M730 crank arms (thanks trek_y) and then some M737/Mavic wheels with correct skewers from the bay. Then we decided to move house and I knew I had to get a move on or it would get packed up.

Next was a large order from CRC; BB, chain, headset, cassette, pedals, grips, clarks cable sets, self extracting crank bolts and some tools. Some M737 shifters and cantis (including kool stop salmons), a period incorrect Marin QR seat clamp, some Ti bolts, stronglight 34t chainring and bolts, NOS canti hangers from ebay. A flite in white thanks to Pace on here (awesome part). Tyres from a random online bike shop, they only just fit.