Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:18 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:04 am 
Dirt Disciple

OK. Bike now finished, so I thought I'd summarise my experiences, as I'm new to this lark. Hopefully it might be of interest to some other inexperienced retro MTB lovers.

The bike is a 1997 Cannondale F900 in Tangerine. I am guessing it's an L but haven't checked the serial numbers as it fits me fine. Frame, DD60 Headshok, stem and cranks bought on ebay from a chap who'd been running it as a singlespeed.

My second MTB as a teen was a 3.0 Cannondale, black with white speckle. Nothing after that gave me so much pleasure so I thought I'd try to rekindle some of that Cannondale feel. Not everybody's cup of tea, I know, but I love 'em.

I decided that top exotic spec wasn't for me, so plumped for a core of XT with a smattering of random bits. For price, availability and for me a nice clean look the M750 fitted the bill. Not the purist's choice, perhaps, but great for me, particularly as the bike came new with the predictable lowly STX & LX bits on it, plus CODA branded 'Dale items, often made by A N Other and rebranded.

I love the idea of sourcing bits on ebay & RB and building a bike - what could be more sustainable than that? Plus you get exactly what you want.

So, before I start thanking the people who've helped me here's a brief spec summary, with notes for each item where appropriate.

F900 hardtail in tangerine. Wishbone stays, nice slope to top tube, fat main tubes. square chainstays. Paint has a lovely deep lustre and decals are 100%. Only quibbles are the odd scuff and bubble in the paint.
DD60 headshok & fork, rebounds & locks out perfectly.
Decided on mostly black bits with some silver, plus accents of gold & white. Some red crept in later in the process.

Built up new for this project, as I couldn't find a complete set in budget with the spec & look I wanted.
Mavic 317 black rims.
Sapim race spokes.