Brettimus's 1996 Orange P7

brettimus

Retro Newbie
New to the forums but after reading things on here for the last couple of weeks decided I might as well get involved and get myself a project bike!

Not am I only new to the forums I am also new to building up bikes, other than the maintenance one does as a child and what you pick up from watching Dad work on bikes I don't know much so any advice on things is very appreciated :)

So here is my new buy not really sure if it was a good deal or not but I guess this is the way things are!

So what do I have from what I gather from the serial number on the bottom its a June 1996 Orange. What type though I'm not 100% sure of these things but is it good if a magnet sticks? Maybe?

Anyway so alot of work ahead of me on this one I believe and only free time in the weekends.

First plan of attack for it is to replace a bent steerer on the RC36 forks and obtain a new headset for it. Looks like I have a bit of research ahead of me on how to do this. :)

Attachments

• 20120618_211949 (Medium).jpg
    20120618_211949 (Medium).jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 657
  • 20120618_212508 (Medium).jpg
    20120618_212508 (Medium).jpg
    203.1 KB · Views: 657
Are the bottle bosses a diamond shape? Also my eyes are as dodgy as your camera :LOL:

Is it a silver matt paint or as it looks like a shiny almost chrome type of finish

Yes sir the bottle mounts are diamonds, and it's a shiney silver, camera phone snaps don't do it any justice!

Saw this on ebay, you bought yourself a P7. You'll love it :D

It looks to me in the second pic that the fork crown is twisted, or is it a trick of the light?

I think it's just some camera magic :D

Actually it probably has to do with the steerer tube being bent and that there is no headset in there. Just sitting the forks in place so I don't get the carpet all dirty with grease.

Pretty stoked with what I have was pretty excited when it arrived last night.