Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:50 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:49 pm 

New to the forums but after reading things on here for the last couple of weeks decided I might as well get involved and get myself a project bike!

Not am I only new to the forums I am also new to building up bikes, other than the maintenance one does as a child and what you pick up from watching Dad work on bikes I don't know much so any advice on things is very appreciated :)

So here is my new buy not really sure if it was a good deal or not but I guess this is the way things are!

So what do I have from what I gather from the serial number on the bottom its a June 1996 Orange. What type though I'm not 100% sure of these things but is it good if a magnet sticks? Maybe?

Anyway so alot of work ahead of me on this one I believe and only free time in the weekends.

First plan of attack for it is to replace a bent steerer on the RC36 forks and obtain a new headset for it. Looks like I have a bit of research ahead of me on how to do this. :)

Attachments:
    20120618_212508 (Medium).jpg
    20120618_212508 (Medium).jpg [ 285.22 KiB | Viewed 459 times ]
    20120618_211949 (Medium).jpg
    20120618_211949 (Medium).jpg [ 169.08 KiB | Viewed 459 times ]

Last edited by brettimus on Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject:
    PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:09 am 
    eBay Outing Master

Are the bottle bosses a diamond shape? Also my eyes are as dodgy as your camera :lol:

Is it a silver matt paint or as it looks like a shiny almost chrome type of finish

Post subject:
    PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:16 am 

Yes sir the bottle mounts are diamonds, and it's a shiney silver, camera phone snaps don't do it any justice!

Post subject:
    PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:17 am 
    retrobike rider
    retrobike rider

Location: Lurking in the bushes at the bottom of your mums garden....