1989 MuddyFox Courier

Lobby Gobbler

Retro Newbie
Newbie here!

Spent the last few weeks stripping down and rebuilding my '89 MuddyFox Courier.

This was the first bike I ever bought with my own hard-earned cash and spent not an unreasonable amount of my meager wages in those days. £299 in the January sales, which is about the equivalent of £670 these days.

I still have the original receipt (see pics). Bought from Harry Halls in Manchester.

It saw quite a bit of action for the first few years of the early nineties and then went into storage as my career took off and I'm ashamed to say it, has been languishing in the garage of every house I've had in the last 15 years.

Since I stopped using it, I've picked up couple of "newer" rides, including a road bike, but I never had the heart to let this go.

It still has the original grey over silver crackle paint finish. Which I've left untouched, so there are a few scrapes and chips, I wanted it to keep a condition relative to it's age and usage.

Everything is original barring the tyres, cables and outers. I have one of the original tyres, a Toioga Farmer John's Cousin, but the rear was worn and then got torn quite badly. The original cable outers had discolored and the cables had seen better days.

The ride still has the original MF bar grips, with "Muddy Fox" embossed in the ends and on the back of the saddle.

The only addition was a super-light Blackburn bottle cage when I got it, which is still on there now.

Anyway enough of me babbling......here's the details and the pics!

Frame; MuddyFox Tange Cro-Mo Tubing
Fork; MuddyFox Cro-Mo
Stem; MuddyFox
Grips; MuddyFox "fat-end" grips

Brakes; Front - Dia-Compe Cantilevers
Brakes; Rear - Dia-Compe AD-990 "Horseshoe" Cantilver (mounted under chainstays, just behind BB)
Pads; Dia-Compe
Cables; Jagwire (new) suntour

Levers; Suntour Power Control Thumbshifter for front, Suntour Accushift Thumbshifter for rear (choice of Friction or Index for changes)