1994 Marin Eldridge Grade

Andrew Eldridge

Dirt Disciple
I have owned this bike since new, purchased in Middlesbrough in 1994. It cost a lot of money, more than I should have been spending.

It has been ridden a lot. I went all over the NY Moors and The Lakes for about 5 years. I emmigrated to Australia in 1999 and used it to commute. Once we got married and started a family I added a baby seat and carried my daughters around. I even used it for a few triathlons.

It still has mostly original parts, the chain and cassette have been replaced twice and there is a new (1999) seat and some SPD pedals.

I have decided to restore it so this seemed like a good place to document the process and to ask for the help, which I am going to need.

This will be a long process, but I am a prolific photographer of stuff so there will be updates if you are interested.

I have ordered a set of decals from Gil, so first up is to strip it down and get it powder coated. I am leaning towards white/black at the moment.

Once it's finished I will be a 'shoe in' for BOTM.

DSC_0648.jpg

DSC_0646.jpg

DSC_0656.jpg

DSC_0660.jpg

hi nice to see a bike with a bit of personal history.

if i may make a comment though, you obviously love this bike and you have been through a lot together. The frame doesnt look bad. Have you thought about just tidying it up rather than a full respray? the patina is cool - every mark tells a story. The reason I say this is because a few years ago i embarked on the restoration of my owned from new Kona, the idea being to make it how I would have liked it to be when i was younger. That frame was a mess so i had it blasted and powder coated, it looked factory fresh.

I built it up with high end parts and it looked amazing, but it didnt feel like my bike any longer. I felt like I had taken away its soul. In the end it the connection had gone completely and a few months after the build it was stripped and sold.