Kona Dog Collar

flyingfinn

Kona Fan
Hi there,

First post from an experienced cyclist but a newbie here:

A while ago on here there was a discussion about the Dog Collar used to guide the rear canti brake cable around the seat tube. I seem to remember that some people stated that they did not wear.

I am just finishing a rebuild of a 96 Kona Lava Dome, some parts of the bike show remarkably little wear but the Dog Collar has been damaged by the brake cable sawing down and outward by about 2.5mm.

I am thinking of boring it out and fitting a harder material tube insert; has anyone had this problem, tried this solution or have a better solution?

I look forward to any responses.

flyingfinn

They are only guides, so they don't have to do a lot if you are using canti brakes. I haven't got anything like 2.5mm of wear on any of mine, but they're only aluminium and they've had a steel cable rubbing against them for 14 years, so maybe a bit of wear isn't unexpected.

It seems to be a c4mm hole, so I wonder whether you could drill it to a little less than 5mm and jam a bit of cable outer in there?

Beaver,

A spare would be a good option as then I can run one on the bike whilst I engineer a solution on my damaged one. we are pretty close for location can you pm me with a price and whether it would suit you if I could manage a collection this weekend - otherwise paypal and post would do.

Anthony,

Actually having looked at the device over the past few months it is a good principal but the function of changing the line of pull from side of tube towards the centre does result in a side load. the older method of having a braised on tube is more reliable but I quite like the look of the dog collar.

I think with the wear I have I will need to bore out to about 6mm and I was going to machine a tube that inserts into this and as a protrusion that takes the lead further towards the centreline in a slight curve.

flyingfinn