Kona Explosif & AA

CHLYBN

Retro Newbie
My Kona MTB and Road converted MTB rides. Getting back into the sport after a 10 year break. Previously rode with Leeds Uni Cycling Club in Leeds during the early days of Stif in Headlingley. Drooled over the cool kit when I was a student. Now I can own some of it!

Attachments

• 100_0962.JPG
    100_0962.JPG
    140.8 KB · Views: 1,832
  • 100_0959.JPG
    100_0959.JPG
    139.1 KB · Views: 1,832
Love them both.

It would be nice to see some Z2s or some project 2s on the Explosif. Which is such a cool colour by the way, one of my favourite kona colours.

nice Explosif...

seeing an Explosif of the same era reminds me I need to get my camera out tomorrow and get some pics posted. I'm guessing yours is a '96 which was my dilema on the day of purchase - ex-demo '95 with Judy XCs & SPDs thrown in or new '96. I went for the '95 coz it was £100 less and available to take away ---- never looked back :)

From Leeds to NZ - I think you win...(I'm writing this in sunny York)

A lovely pair there, the AA looks especially tidy. I'm doing something similar with a Cinder Cone at the moment; can I ask you, did you face any problems mounting the road cranks (e.g. chainstay clearance of the big ring)? What length BB spindle have you used?

I used the existing BB (shimano) with the new Campag Chorus crank. The previous crank was also Campag but MTB specific.
With both cranks there's a bigish gap (index finger fits easily) from the shell to the crank arm/spider.
Italian cranks (square) have a smaller taper than Shimano and therefore do not slide fully home on the BB shaft. Ie Italian to Shimano is not as good as IT to IT or Shim to Shim.

The upside of all of this is that the greater off set appears to work better with the MTB frame as the clearance of the crank arm to chainstay is neither excessive nor too close.