1993 Kona lava dome

Bram J

Retro Guru
Hi,

This kit has arrived the last few weeks. :D
It's a 1993 lavadome I bought off here from 8lezard. The frame, bars p2's and velocity stem were resprayed at bob jackson. He also included an lx headset and a sharkfin for free. :D
I'm planning on building it up as a 1x9, 1x8 or maybe 2x9 setup, for cruising around on hot dry summerdays which we have plenty of over here. :LOL:
The frame, fork and stem were kind of rusty on the inside, so the first thing I did was WD40'ing the hell out of these to thrive out any moisture. Then I stored them in my room next to the heater. The next thing I will do is apply framesaver, but first I'll let the WD40 evaporate.

So here you have the start of a new project, it will probably take ages to get it finished. Afterall I am a student so I don't have much money lying around. The build will not be period correct, sorry for that. :LOL:

I was thinking about the following spec:
-silver tune cranks with black chainring
-paul cantilevers in black flavour (neo retro front, touring rear)
-a slim saddle (white or black)
-oury grips (white or black)
-tires, modern ones (white or black with amberwall)
-wheels: some xt hubs on rigida rims I have lying around (these are indestructable)
-rear derr, X0 or an old xt, don't really know yet
-silver use seatpost I already sourced
-paul chainkeeper
-paul thumbshifter(s)

Any opinions or suggestions are welcomed, so please, go ahead! :D

And now how about a picture?! :LOL:
konalavadome1993005.jpg

Thanks for looking,
Bram

Very nice, but who's the guy opposite you with the same frame & bits? Damned copycats! ;)

Looks like this will be a great looking bike. I like the tune cranks and they should suit the bike well. They look kinda retro, similar to Cooks.....

WMB80.gear.tunecranks-399-75.jpg

i like it apart from that diy saddle on the seat post :LOL:

will be watching this one develop

kirbdug :D