Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:02 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:07 am 
Old School Hero

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Warrington
Hi.

I think the chain on my lads Carrera is too long. It hangs loose and low and sometimes jams up between the rear mech and cassette.

Its a Sram x3 setup, and its 1x7speed. Front chain ring is 36tooth, the range of the cassette is 28-13tooth. The are 106 links (joins) in the chain. By using calculation does it seem too long? If it is how long should it be? What do I use to rejoin it, its a KMC Narrow A1 (with a Z marked on the side) not sure what kind of joins can be used.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:58 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:15 am
Posts: 1887
Location: Getting fitter, I will beat the Surrey Hills....
http://sheldonbrown.com/derailer-adjustment.html#chain

Wrap the chain round the biggest rings front and back. Its basically where they meet should you join it in that setup plus two links.when you do that, dont go through the rear mech - just on the sprockets.

Not an exact science, but works for me!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:07 pm 
Old School Hero

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 241
Location: Warrington
Thanks, before I go about taking the chain apart, what is the official way of putting a link back in, would this chain be the same an any other KMC?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:22 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 7058
Location: The land of Lea & Perrins
Biggest chainring on the front (or in your case, the only chainring!)
Biggest sprocket on the back
Pull the chain together so that the rear mech is at full stretch
Add 2 links
Split and rejoin the chain there

I'm pretty sure you can rejoin it using a SRAM Powerlink (about £3 for 3 from http://www.chainreactioncycles.com) which saves faffing about with the chain tool again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:42 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:54 pm
Posts: 905
Location: Heathfield
KMC chains have their own version of a powerlink, so you'll need to pop out one of the links and then re-connect the chain using the link.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group