fork oil weight ?

foz

Gold Trader
Feedback
View
I'm completely new to modern suspension stuff, so please bear with me if this is completely obvious or has already been covered!

I want to reduce the travel on my new RS rebas to the minimum, so need to take them apart and install the extra spacers. My doubt is with the oil I need when putting them back together again. the RS manual indicates 5wt oil for the upper tube, and 15wt oil for the lower leg. This may be a daft question, but do I really need two different weights of oil, or can I get away with using the same weight in both places? Am I likely to run into problems, void the warranty, or anything else that wouldn't be good?

I assume I can just use motorbike oil, as it's a lot cheaper than the official bike stuff?

thanks, Andy

foz":16w911pj said:
I'm completely new to modern suspension stuff, so please bear with me if this is completely obvious or has already been covered!

I want to reduce the travel on my new RS rebas to the minimum, so need to take them apart and install the extra spacers. My doubt is with the oil I need when putting them back together again. the RS manual indicates 5wt oil for the upper tube, and 15wt oil for the lower leg. This may be a daft question, but do I really need two different weights of oil, or can I get away with using the same weight in both places? Am I likely to run into problems, void the warranty, or anything else that wouldn't be good?

I assume I can just use motorbike oil, as it's a lot cheaper than the official bike stuff?

thanks, Andy

of course you can use whichever in each place but the forks will be crap. they spec that for a reason ;)
it'll alter the damping properties so might be too quick/slow to compress or come back up.

needs to be fork oil afaik for rockshox. be it motorbike or mtb. they Don"t cost a lot and I buy the mtb as they seem to make the lighter weight and work for me.