Couple of brake and shifter questions...

Dead Rats

Gold Trader
Feedback
View
Possibly looking at giving the Surly KM another makeover :?

1) bike has Avid BB5 ROAD disc calipers which I don't really want to change as I bought them new and they've just bedded in nicely, so what flat bar levers would work best:

Avid SD (adjustable pull)
or
old style canti levers (ie Deore DX)?

2) if I go to hydraulic brakes what brand would you guys recommend?

3) 9 speed thumbies - any tips? Pauls? some kind of DIY set up?

Cheers,
Al

I cannot fault shimano disc brakes. Reliable, so simple to service, very powerful always consistant and good modulation.

Bleeding can be done by an absolute novice and its almost foolproof.

Hardly ever require bleeding and use safe and stable mineral oil, not the corrosive DOT fluids that Avid prefer for some steange reason.

XT you can't go wrong. The latest version with the one finger levers are phenomonal.

if you are staying with BB5 road calipers then you need canti levers . road levers have the same pull .

maybe the avid can be adjusted enough to cope with the difference in pull but not 100% sure .

I think the sd's may well end up being spongy. Go for pauls or real levers?

Hydro brakes - everyone will have a favourite. Im on hopes at the moment which i quite like.

I've been looking at 9 speed thumbies myself the last couple of days... pauls or velorange mounts with dura ace bar end shifters is one option, but I've seen that microshift make a pretty decent looking thumbie, I think it's model SL A-10, the cheapest I've found new is about 90 euros delivered on ebay, so quite a bit cheaper than buying new paul mounts and dura ace.

cchris2lou":1detgsdq said:
if you are staying with BB5 road calipers then you need canti levers . road levers have the same pull .

maybe the avid can be adjusted enough to cope with the difference in pull but not 100% sure .