Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:23 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:29 am 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 473
I am going to change my wheelset on my boardman for commuting.

I can change tires easily enough however I am not so clear about changing the discs, do I just take the bolts off and put them on the new set? Would anyone know the torque values?

I am guessing that the skewers will fit the new wheels and the cassette will be changed over as well by the lbs, as I do not have the relevant tools.

Finally I was reading about adjusting the caliper and rear mech, but I have no idea as to why or how, can someone please point me in the right direction.

thanks

sam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:52 am 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
To adjust the caliper is by way of alln key i assume (moving it side to side or whatnot).

The rotors should be bolted on with torx25 driver i believe, most likely your brakes are avid and i think they put the torque values on there.

The qr's should fit along with the cassette.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:40 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 473
cyfa2809 wrote:
and i think they put the torque values on there.

.


thanks for that, on where?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:18 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:06 pm
Posts: 4424
Location: Herts UK
samsbike wrote:
Finally I was reading about adjusting the caliper and rear mech, but I have no idea as to why or how, can someone please point me in the right direction.


different models of hubs will differ slightly where the cassette and disc sits hence need for minor adjustment. For the brake calliper, if the disc is off, it will rub against the pad, likewise for the chain to sift correctly over the cassette, the rear shifter cable may need to be adjusted and also the rear mech end stops.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:08 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 473
02gf74 wrote:
samsbike wrote:
Finally I was reading about adjusting the caliper and rear mech, but I have no idea as to why or how, can someone please point me in the right direction.


different models of hubs will differ slightly where the cassette and disc sits hence need for minor adjustment. For the brake calliper, if the disc is off, it will rub against the pad, likewise for the chain to sift correctly over the cassette, the rear shifter cable may need to be adjusted and also the rear mech end stops.


Would you mind explaining what I need to adjust on the shifter cable.

I understand the mech stops - that would just be the limit screws presumably


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:37 pm 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
Limit screws are as you say, once setup these rarely need changing.

You may have to undo the cable bolt and pull it through or let some out but most likely you will be able to adjust it fine using the shifter and mech barrel adjusters.

The torque values are written on one of the 'arms' of the rotor i believe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:54 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 473
I will take a look for the adjusters.

Am I correct that once I fit everything if the mech is no moving out or in enough I should adjust the cable before moving the limit screws?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:03 pm 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
Yes, as above - the limit screws shouldnt really need to be adjusted as long as they were setup correctly in the first place which i believe boardman to do pretty well out of the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:32 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 pm
Posts: 473
I found the torque settings and they were really low, something like 6.2nm - does that sound right.

The issue is I dont think my torque 3/8 goes down that low

sam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:42 pm 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
I just do it by hand.

Tight enough just dont over tighten.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group