Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sat Dec 10, 2016 4:14 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:34 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Trancecentral
Even on a top entry shadow the cable radius looks tight, though it has always worked before?!?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:11 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:33 pm
Posts: 11108
Location: The Home Of Mountain Biking, And All Great Things.
I guess you already ran the chain through your hands, working each link to check for a stiff one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:35 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:37 pm
Posts: 1728
Location: UK Southwest
My money would be on a Stiff link too. I also agree that the factory "lube" is just a coating for storage and not an actual lube. I believe you are suposed to wash it off and re-lube. I tried that once though and it didn't seem to come off very easily so these days I just put proper lube on over the top of whatever it is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:43 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:33 pm
Posts: 735
I had this problem and it turned out to be my front cahin rings, they looked fine but caused it to skip. On closer inspection one of the teeth was very slightly damaged which caused it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:09 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 1083
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Anthony wrote:
I think the waxy substance is a protective coating rather than a lubricant, so I always oil a new chain now, but I did find some problems with new chains previously.

As you say you have 'realised' that your old chain was worn out, it makes me wonder how you realised. In many cases, people realise that they need a new chain quite a long time after the chain should have been replaced. By that time, one or more of the rings, sprockets and/or jockey wheels may have been damaged by the chain. So there are still problems with a new chain.

If on the other hand, you realised when you measured the chain, which you do regularly, and it was looking more like an eighth stretched than a sixteenth, then it's much less likely that you've damaged the rings, sprockets and/or jockey wheels.


Cassette, chain, chainrings and jockey wheels are all new and I replaced them at the same time.

I haven't checked for a stiff link or the joining link. Tomorrow I'll clean and lube the chain... also check it for stiff links including the joining link.

Thanks guys :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group