Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:25 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Chain skipping??
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:51 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 1083
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Hey all, been riding my bike to death and realised the other day when my chain was skipping it was worn out.
So got sent a voucher from CRC and decided to use it.
Bought a new Sram 991 chain, Shimano XT cassette and Blackspire 22t and 34t front rings.
Installed the whole lot and also cleaned up the rear mech (XT Shadow in great condition) and put new KCNC jockey wheels on.

Went out riding today, shifting was flawless and rode very smooth. However when under power the chain skipped a couple times...
The B screw was wound out so the top jockey wheel is as close to the cassette as it can be (not touching the cassette however).
I didn't lube the chain as it comes with that waxy lube from factory. Can this cause it?
Any ideas? Will try and get some photo's up soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:19 am 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 12267
Location: Penarth
Not the freehub skipping is it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:36 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 1083
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
No the freehub does skip every now and then, although that makes a different noise, and the freehub only skips when I stop pedalling and coast and then put the power down again. (It's a Deore hub... and I'm 120kg powerhouse, don't go well together! :lol: )

I might try and lube the chain up properly and see if that makes a difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:45 am 
Old School Grand Master
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 12267
Location: Penarth
Lubing the chain will not make a diff. in my opinion


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:19 am 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
Maybe gears need slight adjustment?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:08 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1904
Location: Trancecentral
You've changed a lot there:

Are the jockeys are binding or too tight and catching the chain springing the derailleur back before losing tension before it engages again.

You've cleaned the mech, pivots lubed OK?

Is the mech cage twisted or not inline?

Can you tell when it slips if the chain is trying to jump up or down a sprocket, or chain losing tension and slipping?

I think the factory chain lube is good stuff, it never seems very loose on the links but I leave it on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:15 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 1083
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Jockeys spin freely, I pulled the derailuer off the bike, cleaned, lubed and installed the jocky wheels. Everything was spinning freely.
My mate has a parktool aligner thing for the rear mech and used it on my bike just a couple days ago.
Bike back pedals freely as well.
Gears are fine as far as alignment and adjustment are concerned.
I think it's more like skipping under power rather then dodgy gear tuning.

I'll get some photo's up in a sec.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:25 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 1083
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Here pics of the drive train. Excuse the dirty bike, just got back from an hour out on the track.
So can anyone see anything wrong with the setup?


Attachments:
Drive train (3).jpg
Drive train (3).jpg [ 231.18 KiB | Viewed 501 times ]
Drive train (2).jpg
Drive train (2).jpg [ 188.5 KiB | Viewed 501 times ]
Drive train.jpg
Drive train.jpg [ 178.76 KiB | Viewed 501 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:26 am 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:22 pm
Posts: 7305
Location: Hove
I think the waxy substance is a protective coating rather than a lubricant, so I always oil a new chain now, but I did find some problems with new chains previously.

As you say you have 'realised' that your old chain was worn out, it makes me wonder how you realised. In many cases, people realise that they need a new chain quite a long time after the chain should have been replaced. By that time, one or more of the rings, sprockets and/or jockey wheels may have been damaged by the chain. So there are still problems with a new chain.

If on the other hand, you realised when you measured the chain, which you do regularly, and it was looking more like an eighth stretched than a sixteenth, then it's much less likely that you've damaged the rings, sprockets and/or jockey wheels.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:29 am 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
Have you check the joining link? Mine gave me problems


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hurcytm, JamesM, Midlife and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group