Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:46 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:23 pm 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
wheel worked fine when i had it on my '98 FSR, it was directly transfered over, including cassette.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:27 pm 
Gold Trader
Gold Trader

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:12 pm
Posts: 2941
yeah i would agree with josh, my idrive used to skip down to the cable running under the BB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:30 pm 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
cyfa2809 wrote:
If i ran my cable too short on my old i drive it did shift on its own


it was too short originally, so swapped it out for a longer one.
kinda why i'm asking what length other owners are.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:59 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10941
Location: kent
does it skip all the time ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:00 pm 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
more so under compression.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:16 pm 
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
Gold Trader / PoTM Winner / RB Rider
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:45 pm
Posts: 10941
Location: kent
try to shorten the chain then .

it gets longer as the rear end gets closer to the chainset .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 1:19 am 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
chain is probably down to the lenth of an 8spd chain.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:49 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:16 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: U.K
hi
where the cable runs under the bb is a tuned lenght i built a 04 model a couple of years ago. are you using good quality cables?
si


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:20 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:37 am
Posts: 3976
try running it without the cable outer going under the bb, i.e just the bar inner going through the guides. if it still does then at least you know its not that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:17 pm 
aka Leo Swayer
aka Leo Swayer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Posts: 6365
Location: Wales.UK
Or use the stops on the rear mech to run it in one gear and disconnect the cable and try it?
I'm sure i'm teaching you to suck eggs, but no stiff links in the chains?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group