Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:15 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:15 am 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
so i bought one of these earlier in the year, but i've been having problems with it ever since i've built it.

the problem being, a skipping chain.

i've been through all the obvious options of why a chain skips and eliminated them all, but the chain still skips.

i thought originally it may have been the rear mech cable outer being too short, so replaced it with a (much) longer one. can anyone who owns one tell me what length it should be?

i'm at my wits end with it now, and considering selling it on but really really don't want to.

so can anyone help me?
over to you guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:36 am 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
forgot to add which cable outer.

just to verify it's the one that runs under the bottom bracket.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:33 am 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
Have you got a shock that locks out? Maybe the suspension actuation is causing this (by moving the cable?).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:13 am 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
cyfa2809 wrote:
Have you got a shock that locks out? Maybe the suspension actuation is causing this (by moving the cable?).


nope.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:24 am 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:37 am
Posts: 3976
have you replaced the chain and cassette and chain rings?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:00 pm 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:23 pm
Posts: 3613
Location: Cumbria
Mech and mech hanger ok. Seem to remember the hanger has tiny screws that hold it in, could work loose. Or the hangers flexing. Hard to say without having it I front of me and having a tinker. Great bikes though!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:33 pm 
Gold Trader / Special
Gold Trader / Special
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 3169
Location: Leicestershire
jamabikes wrote:
have you replaced the chain and cassette and chain rings?

tried 3 chains, 2 crank sets, 4 cassettes. all of which work perfectly on other bikes.

EarlofBarnet wrote:
Mech and mech hanger ok. Seem to remember the hanger has tiny screws that hold it in, could work loose. Or the hangers flexing. Hard to say without having it I front of me and having a tinker. Great bikes though!

tried 4 different mechs, as above all work perfectly on other bikes.
mech hanger is brand new as the tiny screws on the previous one had stripped threads so wouldn't hold. i'd be supprised with the flex of the hanger it's one of those nice expensive CNCd ones.

all the linkages are tight, no lateral movement in them.

as i say i've been through all the common causes of why chains skip and am at a real loss.
the only thing i can think it maybe is the cable outer that runs under the BB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:15 pm 
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
Gold Trader / rb Rider / Special
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:26 am
Posts: 16165
Location: Rurally close.
If i ran my cable too short on my old i drive it did shift on its own


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:36 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 1185
Location: Sunny Bognor Regis
Have you tried a different wheel? maybe the axel is damaged????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:47 pm 
Old School Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:57 pm
Posts: 4074
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Either the freewheel isn't straight anymore (easy to check, just pedal a bit and let it freewheel. If you see abnormal movement of the cassette, there's your problem)

As to how long the cable should be, that all depends on the mech and cable stops on the frame. It should be a nice flowing curve.
Show a picture and we'll probably be able to point out if it's too long or too short.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: foz and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group