Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:16 pm

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:16 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:15 am
Posts: 96
This question has probably come up on here before, but I can't find it using the search.

Can I upgrade my cassette from 8 to 9 speed, and keep my 8 speed chain?

If not and I have to buy a 9 speed chain, will the new chain work on my m739 rear mech and chainset?

Thanks

Jamie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:55 pm 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
8 speed chains are fatter. So i don't think it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:34 pm 
Devout Dirtbag
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:46 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Nottingham
Nope, it won't work - as above, a 9-speed chain is narrower than 8-speed, as the two cassettes are the same width, but the 9-speed packs (of course) an extra sprocket.

The chain would either refuse to change gear, or (worse) stick between the sprockets.

You should be OK using an "8-speed" front chainset with a 9-speed cassette and chain though (as this is exactly the setup I have on my Marin).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:53 pm 
Dirt Disciple

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:15 am
Posts: 96
Thats great, cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:31 am 
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider
Gold Trader / MacRetro rider
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 11796
Location: Returning
it might work but will probably be a PITA
however you can run a 9 speed chain on an 8 speed set up
youe mechs should be okay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:47 am 
King of the DuckBoard
King of the DuckBoard

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:30 pm
Posts: 21466
mikee wrote:
it might work but will probably be a PITA
however you can run a 9 speed chain on an 8 speed set up
youe mechs should be okay


I found my 9 speed slipped & jumped about on my 8 speed. Or just me :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:20 pm 
retrobike rider
retrobike rider
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Bristol
9 and 8 don't mix.
tintin40,
not you mate. Chain too narrow to sink down fully onto 8 speed teeth=slipping.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:17 pm 
Old School Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:55 pm
Posts: 8209
Location: New Forest, UK
But the inside width of the chain (and the sprocket thickness) is the same for 9 and 8, so I'm puzzled why you encountered a problem - one was worn perhaps?

9s chain is the same on the inside as 8s, but has slimmer side plates and rivets.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevet1, stew-b and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group