And today I revisited my youth

epicyclo

Senior Retro Guru
When I was a young lad I had an Andre Bertin C37 set up just the way I wanted for riding hill tracks around the Highlands. (Ignore that derailleur - it didn't last long :) )

55 years later I have an Andre Bertin C37 set up just the way I want for riding hill tracks around the Highlands.

I've been collecting the bits for this for quite a few years. The Ideale Modele 90 Rebour saddle was bought 10 years ago, the embossed handlebars about 7 years ago, and so on. Even got the right handlebar tape. Finding the right frame took longer.

It was strange doing the modifications. For example when I went to fit the fattest tyre I could cram into the forks, that was when I remembered I had the same problem last time, and I had to slightly relieve the underside of the fork crown and brake bridge with a file to get about 1mm clearance. This time because I'm getting old and frail, instead of singlespeeding it, I fitted a 3 speed hub. I've had to bodge up a changer under the seat - that will get tidied up.

Obviously it is a work in progress, and I intend to repaint it once everything is the way it should be. Took it out for a trot last night. It zooms up hills and descends just like I remember. Very nimble.

And it's off for another ride today in Inverness to Dores with the veteran mob. (I was supposed to take my Flying Scot because it's a Scottish theme, but the Auld Alliance means French should be ok, shouldn't it? :) )

Re:

Lovely bike Brian, nice interpretation on the old clubman style with the 3 speed hub :cool:

I am similarly enthused about early Dawes Galaxy's, I've had two now though the last was stolen. On the look out for a third and might go hub gear like you have as I have a SA 5 speed hub waiting in the wings.

I can vouch for this being a very nice machine, having seen it in person when it came out for a brief 'road' ride in the autumn. It certainly shifted along nicely both on and off road.