Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:36 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Raleigh Dyna-Tech 605
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:26 pm 
Deputy National AEC
Deputy National AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:43 pm
Posts: 5169
Location: Cumbria, England.
Disclaimer:

In advance I apologise to all you roadie enthusiasts, I’m completely and utterly new to this road bike world, in fact this my first ever road bike.

Raleigh Dyna-Tech 605

Bought a month or so ago in parts from Jezza who previously bought it from Slimjoe. I need a bike to commute the 14 miles to work on from my new house, it’s all flattish A-roads so thought this 14 speed road bike would be the perfect tool for the job.

I’d love to take credit for the build but to be fair Jez had done everything but the cables, the chain and adjust it all. So for me the real challenge has been to learn to ride one and get it set up to my liking. Local RB’er and hair stylist to the Retrobike stars (well just me actually!) KingCutter, has been a major help in teaching me how to ride road bikes and how to get the set up right. I’m a little awkward as I like a very high saddle height (just the tiniest of bends in my legs at the lowest pedal point) whilst I’m not so long in the upper body.

Spec is along the lines of full Shimano 105 with Exage aero brake levers, Mavic MA 2 rims, Shimano 600 pedals (but will probably opt for spds), Flite ti saddle, Cinelli bars and stem and period Specialized tyres.

Anyway here’s some pictures of the bike at this time:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Only real problem I’m having at this time is with the rear mech cabling. The lug for the cabling is really small, so small in fact I had to taper the cable with a Stanley knife to get in. After use the cable has pulled through, ruining my indexing. Any suggestions fellas? I was thinking maybe an adjuster should be there or some type of fancy ferrule. For info I’m using Shimano SP-41 cable outer which I think is 5mm thick, there is no chance whatsoever of getting a ferrule in there it seems.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:08 pm 
The Guv'nor
The Guv'nor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 23177
Location: Retrobike HQ
Looks like a good :D

Quite a short cockpit there. A stem as short as that looks will tend to make the bike 'twitchy'.

You need a special cable ferrule for that stop. Your LBS should be able to help, if not I can pop one in the post, have a load.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:10 pm 
Old School Hero
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 224
Location: Wakefield, in the West Riding Of Yorkshire
John wrote:
Looks like a good :D

Quite a short cockpit there. A stem as short as that looks will tend to make the bike 'twitchy'.


That's roughly the length that my '94 755Ti had fitted when it arrived from the distributors, & another reason why I went over to Ritchey stem/seat-pin

Raleigh also seemed to build bike with ridiculous bar widths, I seem to remember it turning up with 39cm bars!!!! :shock: :shock:
(on a 54.5 C-C)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:25 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Hilly Rossendale
Looks better in real life as well,and you ride it well cheers for the help today by the way,good luck with the move see you soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:42 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:51 am
Posts: 1281
Location: Norfolk
Yeah, he'll need a step-down ferrule for the rear mech cable lug.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: DT 605
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:47 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:50 pm
Posts: 612
Location: Lazy Town
The problem cable is the one on the chainstay. The ferrule we used was called a "Divers Helmet". The Shimano cable should have a stepped ferrule on it. I'll look in my boxes for one for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Cockpit
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:52 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:50 pm
Posts: 612
Location: Lazy Town
Looking at the pics, the saddle looks a little bit too far forward to me. I would push it back a tad if you can, just to the point where the seat post bisects the centre line.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Dyna-Tech
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:54 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:50 pm
Posts: 612
Location: Lazy Town
btw lovin' it completely. Real nice bike and great condition


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:08 pm 
Deputy National AEC
Deputy National AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:43 pm
Posts: 5169
Location: Cumbria, England.
Sadly road riding just ain't flicking my switch, so i've built up a hybrid. Hence, this lovely Raleigh is up for sale:

http://www.retrobike.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=73679


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group