Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:06 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:41 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:22 am
Posts: 2075
Location: Warks
Anyone know if you can use band on shimano 600 shifters on a braze on frame fitment by discarding the band? is there any difference in the casting? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:52 pm 
r.B.o.T.M. & P.o.T.M. Winner
r.B.o.T.M. & P.o.T.M. Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:41 pm
Posts: 2449
Location: Plymouth, UK
bikenut2010 wrote:
Anyone know if you can use band on shimano 600 shifters on a braze on frame fitment by discarding the band? is there any difference in the casting? :roll:


I use this type of lever on my Carlton Continental as a band on type, it all boils down to if the brazed on bosses of the existing frame will take the Shimano screw. I suspect it wont as the Jap stuff tend to me metric. I could be wrong, Ive never tried these lever on my Flyer which has braze on bosses. Give it a try... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: shifters
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:15 pm 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:22 am
Posts: 2075
Location: Warks
all the rest of the groupset is shimano and it's a Rossin frame in Shimano team colours so I suspect it's do-able! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: shifters
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:26 pm 
r.B.o.T.M. & P.o.T.M. Winner
r.B.o.T.M. & P.o.T.M. Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:41 pm
Posts: 2449
Location: Plymouth, UK
bikenut2010 wrote:
all the rest of the groupset is shimano and it's a Rossin frame in Shimano team colours so I suspect it's do-able! :D


Go for it. The 600 stuff is very nice indeed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:03 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 303
I shoved a couple of Shimano indexed shifters from a band on set onto a Peugeot frame that originally had Sachs kit. No problems at all. The only caveat is to make sure you use all the bits, washers, spacers, etc. These bits, particularly that first spacer with the square hole (does it have a name?) are not all the same even across the same brand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: shifters
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:51 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:22 am
Posts: 2075
Location: Warks
ha1...mine has sachs at the moment also


http://velospace.org/node/30982


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group