A budget On One Inbred build

moonlite

Kona Fan
I thought it was time to try documenting a build I've been working on for a couple of months. It's an On One Inbred which I got as a well-used frame after becoming too impatient for the perfect Kona Explosif to come up for sale in Australia (of course one did a few weeks after I'd blown the budget on this).

Build philosophy was to find cheap and cheerful used parts on Ebay and, when possible, rescue bits from my stash which had been in storage since moving to Australia a year ago. I wanted it to be a quick-and-dirty build but it's turned out to be slow and dirty.

Here's the frame as it arrived. No idea of the year but it's pre-sliding dropouts. I had some Kona P2 forks which I thought would work well with it -- everything else needed to be found and fitted.

Attachments

• IMG_3755.jpg
    IMG_3755.jpg
    575.2 KB · Views: 1,291
  • IMG_3754.jpg
    IMG_3754.jpg
    574 KB · Views: 1,279
  • IMG_3753.jpg
    IMG_3753.jpg
    261.7 KB · Views: 1,291
  • IMG_3751.jpg
    IMG_3751.jpg
    878.3 KB · Views: 1,292
Wow -- those pics came out large!

Here's the fork.

Attachments

• IMG_3761.jpg
    IMG_3761.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,275
  • IMG_3762.jpg
    IMG_3762.jpg
    623.2 KB · Views: 1,275
Some parts off eBay.

Finding the right size of seatpost collar proved a little more challenging than originally imagined -- especially to the impatient shopper -- so this attractive shade of orange was the best option.

This colour choice has had far-reaching implications for the build . . .

Attachments

• IMG_3942.jpg
    IMG_3942.jpg
    808.1 KB · Views: 1,223
  • IMG_4537.jpg
    IMG_4537.jpg
    425.1 KB · Views: 1,223
Decent Selle Italia in a complementary colour for not too much moola.

Attachments

• IMG_3774.jpg
    IMG_3774.jpg
    735.3 KB · Views: 1,205
  • IMG_3773.jpg
    IMG_3773.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,205