Ugly San Andreas

Totoro

Retro Guru
I have just bought a used Mountain Cycle San Andreas from my local bike shop. As it was for sale from a shop I thought it would have been serviced but as it is the gears are set up so badly that I couldn't even ride it home. It has only had one owner before me and it has never been off road! Still its getting on a bit now and its looking rather tatty.

I'll get the tripod out later and take some pictures.

The forks say - Marzocchi Bomber Dirt Jumper III

Bar stem says - Answer Atac Pro

Bars - Titec EL Norte IV

Brakes - Promax

Gears - Shimano Deore mega a DT

Front gearing - Stronglight RPM Comp dia. 104
44T 7075

Pedals - Wellgo

Rear shock - X Fusion 02RPV

Seat - SDG Kona

Seat Stem - XTASY

Does that list tell anybody what year it is or has the last owner changed some parts?

Thanks for reading, I'm a noob as you can tell.

mikee":3hhg01z6 said:
Sounds like a right lash up

Good start for a project tho

Welcome

Mike

Thanks for the welcome.

I will take some pictures later and post them up. The bike is going for a service tomorrow, I'm going to get some advice while I'm there about what to do with it.

looks like a real tough bike but even without riding it I can see things I don't like and look like hassle, the cables have been eating into the frame :evil:

Hope this works, I have attached the images as files because I don't use any online photo sharing sites.

Also I have been told the bike is a 2005 model but the classic version. I guess its still retro as it doesn't look that different to the older ones.

zetecmk2":21tsyuhz said:
how we love a san an!!! nice!!

I think I may feel a project coming along :facepalm:

I've seen some nice examples on the web

EDIT: So what about the parts then, am I going to have to Google everything or is somebody going to tell me what I can get away with keeping and what is junk?