1999 Ground Control FSR Sport Build

GlenPxC

Dirt Disciple
Been lurking on here for a while and finally decided it's time to start a build thread. Now, keep in mind I'm currently a college student in my last semester so funds are a little short.
When I bought the frame and went to look up the model I couldn't find any GC FSR that had the yellow S like mine did until I stumbled upon the "sport" model. When I bought it I was upset that the original decals were
missing, but after seeing the original color scheme, not so much. Anyways on to the build, it's no max backbone, but it's sure as hell fun to ride!

9387131665_4bab284da7_c.jpg

8725863547_8b77081456_c.jpg

Curret Build State:
1999 Ground Control FSR Sport frame
2006 Fox Float 130mm R fork
Rock Shox Deluxe rear shock
Avid BB7 disc brakes with tektro levers
Shimano SLX Shadow rear shifter and derailleur
Shimano alvio front shifter and derailleur
Sram X5 GXP crank and BB
BBG bash guard
Deore XT 9 speed cassette and chain
Sun Single track disc rims with deore XT hubs
Panaracer fire pro xc 2.1 tires
Specialized Mobius stem
WTB Headset
Specialized phenom saddle
Shimano m520 clipless pedals
DIY chain guide

How it looked when I picked it up, pretty rough shape, but hey I got it for $35!

Cleaned it up and swapped over some parts from my hardtail.

Found an a2z adapter and with a simple modification it works really well.

Got an appropriately sized seat post and made some decals.

Biggest upgrade, fox float 130mm r fork. Monumental difference compared with the crappy manitou comp 80mm coil I was using

After dealing with problem after problem with the gears and chain I decided it was time to start the upgrading the drivetrain.
First I got a 9 speed XT cassette and chain, as well as a shimano SLX shadow rear derailleur and shifter.
Also swapped the shorter stem back over.

And my most recent upgrade which I just finished today was the last piece of the drivetrain.