Scott Voltage YZ3 2005 is it worth getting repaired?

swos

Senior Retro Guru
Feedback
View
I have a Scott Voltage YZ3 2005 which I have been riding to work for the past 18 months. Recently the chain broke after the chain got stuck between the back wheel and the top gear cog. The gears have been on the way out for the past few months. Took the bike to 2 different shops in Norwich and not only is the chain broken but the gears as I suspected are knackered and have been advised that I need to replace the chain, back wheel 8 speed cogs etc. I have been quoted about £130 to get the bike repaired.

The bike has front suspension and has front and back disc brakes. I have really enjoyed riding the bike to work for the past 18 months and am reluctant to get rid of the bike.

I have a 1997 Specialized Ground Control A1 Aim Pro for riding off road etc so the Scott would only be used for commuting to work and cycling to the football and shops.

I was wondering whether its worth getting the bike repaired so I can use it for commuting to work. Or is it best to count my losses and sell the bike for spares, parts or repair. But for the £130+ that it may cost to get it repaired I maybe able to get a nice retro bike.

What would people do in my shoes?

Go for a retro bike or source the parts form here instead - shop qoute means full price
Why does the back wheel need replacing?

i'm with cyfa on this one, seems the shop is trying to misinform you to make some sales. (can't really fault them it is there job)

£130 for new chain, cassette, rear wheel ? sounds about right (maybe a little high), but as cyfa says what is wrong with the rear wheel to need it replacing ?

if it is just the chain & cassette that need replacing get them off ebay or CRC then take them to your LBS to get them fitted. (if you don't have the tools or know how to do it yourself) it'll no doubt save you at least half of what you've been quoted.

cyfa2809":byo1thd6 said: