Retrobike Forum Index

It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:19 am

* Login   * Register * Search  * FAQ

Forum rules


**Classified Rules & Guidance - Feedback - Dispute Procedure - Gold Trader Status - All Adverts Need A Price - 5 Adverts Maximum - Leave Prices In Sold Adverts**



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:27 pm 
South East AEC
South East AEC
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:39 pm
Posts: 3882
does it have to be a moniter or will a old laptop do ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:15 am 
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
retrobike rider / Gold Trader
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 10:01 am
Posts: 11207
Location: Stockport, staring at the Peaks
cyfa2809 wrote:
lumos2000 wrote:
cyfa2809 wrote:


reading that its no wonder the uk is going tits up and all the manufacturing has gone abroad. :roll:


Cheaper and faster abroad. I know labour is cheaper but surely an order that large and possible recurring order, why cant we match it!?


Because our cretinous system screws you left right and centre if you're a UK company.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:59 am 
Retro Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:51 am
Posts: 1046
Location: W.yorkshire
if you just need the screen, buy a replacement laptop screen off ebay...some of them are dirt cheap. Just picked up a 19 inch lcd monitor from cash convertors a couple of days ago for 19 quid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:24 am 
PoTM Winner
PoTM Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:51 am
Posts: 414
Location: Near the fire escape
Needs to be a monitor I'm afraid. Laptop screens will need extra parts to connect to a VGA output, therein entering a minefield full of cowpats.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:51 pm 
Retro Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:12 am
Posts: 1906
Location: Brizzle
With the raspberry pi, it has hdmi output. anything else you can use montor wise as some dvi or vga. Or a 20" lcd tv could be used?

Any ideas of who will be selling them online or just or the raspberry website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:00 pm 
Old School Hero

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 194
Location: London
Go on ebay and use the "Distance nearest first " function in the drop down bit on the top right.

I picked up a fully working 17 inch Phillips LCD monitor with cables, for a grand total of £7.21 and it was local :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:10 am 
PoTM Winner
PoTM Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:51 am
Posts: 414
Location: Near the fire escape
Sorted, thanks to dbraxis.

Fits nicely. Just need to get round to doing everything else now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

About Us

Follow Retrobike

Other cool stuff

All content © 2005-2015 Retrobike unless otherwise stated.
Cookies Policy.
bikedeals - the best bike deals in one place
FatCOGS - Fat Chance Owner's Group

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group