Newbie to Old School BMX

rhino_mac

Retro Newbie
OK, here's my first post - please be kind! :)

I used to ride BMX in the early 80's - Unfortunately we weren't well off enough for something like a Haro or a Kuwahara so I had a Pirhana MK2 and raced at Poole Panthers BMX track. My parents bought it from Merry Cycles - the only place you could buy BMX in Dorset and Neil Merry now owns Hotwheels, the UK importer! I still see him from time to time..........

I'm thinking of buying an old school BMX now I'm well into my 30's and can afford the bike I wanted when I was 10.

I'm trying to decide on whether to buy parts and put a bike together, or buy a complete bike. As a complete beginner, I'd appreciate any advise or experience people have had that are in the same position as me. I'm tempted with building one up as I've had experience finding parts all over the world for an old 2 stroke GP replica motorbike.

I really fancy something that my friends has back in the day that made me a little envious. Perhaps something like a Kuwahara in Chrome, or a Haro or Skyway. At the time I always wanted a Diamond Back - a friend had a Viper but that wasn't quite what I'm thinking. Definately a bike from the early 80's - I had a new GT in 1990 and it just wasn't the same.

As I say, any advise or suggestions (particularly piccies) would be appreciated as I'm stuck with where to start.

Thanks!

there is an absolutely mint kuwahara frame going on rad at the mo...if i had the money....

Well, I've decided - gonna do a Kuwahara.

First parts arrived today - a Suntour Arrow seat clamp and a Suntour Headlock (NOS - still in Blister Pack!).

Some way to go I think......................

Well, I've bought the frame and bars. It's a 1983 Kuwahara Laserlite KZ83. I have a loooooong list of parts to locate but I guess the most important will be:

Kuwahara Laserpost
Laserlite Forks or Tange TRX
Redline Flight 400 cranks
Suntour XC2 Bear Trap Pedals
Araya 7X rims in crome